RSS

Daily Archives: September 2, 2011

Movie: “I’m Glad My Mother Is Alive”

It sounds deeply painful and hard to watch but if it came to my area is a movie I would have to go see it.  It opens in NYC today, in French with English subtitles.

Link to the NY Times online review below as well as the trailer.

The Aftershocks of an Adoption Long Ago, Felt by Everyone Involved

http://movies.nytimes.com/2011/09/02/movies/im-glad-my-mother-is-alive-review.html?scp=1&sq=im%20glad%20my%20mother%20is%20alive&st=cse

The psychological crosscurrents in the sober, empathetic French drama “I’m Glad My Mother Is Alive” include potentially fatal riptides. The film tells the story of Thomas Jouvet (Vincent Rottiers), a man with a chip on his shoulder, who with his younger brother, Patrick, was given up for adoption by his birth mother. Years later Thomas, who was 5 at the time of the separation, tracks her down.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 2, 2011 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , ,