RSS

Paul Sunderland on “Adoptees and Addiction” but talks about so much more than just that…

14 Apr

By TAO

Lecture by Paul Sunderland speaking about addiction and adoptees that has been around for a few years, but still relevant today.  Can not recommend this lecture enough, it makes you think, and takes you to what it is like for the babe.  He’s an engaging speaker and covers far more than addiction and talks about the trauma of relinquishment, implicit memory, wiring at birth, the last couple months of pregnancy and after birth, the stress hormones, multiple relinquishments for international adoptions, as well as foster care, as well as many other areas.  You don’t have to watch it – you can listen to it while you are doing daily chores, it runs for about an hour.  Of course, he is not saying all adoptees will be challenged by addictions, but what he talks about to me – isn’t really about addiction, but about how adoptees may be/are vulnerable because they went through the early trauma of relinquishment.

http://www.lifeworkscommunity.com/video-lecture-full.html

I have posted many times before about stress hormones in pregnant mothers, and if you are interested you can read this post about the baby getting the stress hormones in the womb from the mother, and then combine that with the lecture above about stress from the relinquishment.  Here is one of the statements I made in the above link that provides links to the non adoption related studies done on expectant mothers under stress and their babies.

“I over-react to everything.  I have been told literally hundreds of times (since I was small to just the other night) that I worry too much, am too stressed out, and need to relax.  That I need to work on my anxiety levels.  I can’t “not stress” despite trying every trick in the book.  We are all told stress is bad for you.  I know that genetics and environment also play a role in who we are, and how we handle things, but I do believe the stress in the womb and then separation can impact us in ways we are just now starting to understand.”

Have a great Sunday – the sun is starting to peek through the clouds and I am going out to enjoy.  Take care…and let me know what you’re thinking.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2013 in Adoption, adoptive parents, biological child, Ethics

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Paul Sunderland on “Adoptees and Addiction” but talks about so much more than just that…

  1. Rebecca Hawkes (twitter: @motherdaughterB)

    April 14, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    Thanks for sharing this! Very relevant for me today.

    Like

     
  2. eagoodlife

    April 14, 2013 at 10:49 pm

    Excellent lecture and aways good to see it pop up again.I’ve posted too as I don’t think it can have too much exposure and is as relevant now as it was when he first delivered it.

    Like

     
  3. Fran Whelan

    April 15, 2013 at 6:47 am

    Can’t watch or listen today. Its my birthday, and we all know what that means. But scince a dia gnosis of Borderline personality disorder, I can understand why a lot better

    Like

     
  4. Don't We Look Alike?

    April 16, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    Thanks for sharing an important post.

    Like

     
  5. jgvansickle

    June 1, 2013 at 2:08 am

    I have watched this many times, very informative and educational. This guy is really on the ball with what I call a “New Science” into adoptee issues. There is nothing out there that tops this
    video – and I have looked and looked and looked……..

    Liked by 1 person

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
