RSS

Adoption Month – November 2nd, 2023

02 Nov

Many people in adoption have heard the term Seven Core Issues, I’ve written about them multiple times, but, until today, I don’t think I’ve ever read the original article written by by Deborah N. Silverstein and Sharon Kaplan titled Lifelong Issues in Adoption.

I recommend everyone take the time to read the article linked below, to reflect and mull on it throughout this month. Mull on ways adoption could be made better for the one who had no voice, nor old enough to agree to something that big that would fundamentally change their life, who they were, to who they’d become.

Lifelong Issues in Adoption

I’m also thinking about why adoption needs a month to celebrate adoption? And yes, adoption in some form will always be needed, but, what if adoption became more of a form of adoption guardianship, than one that legally strips the one adopted from their entire family by birth, instead, they’d retain their familiar bonds, their origins wouldn’t be wiped away, their ancestors would still be their ancestors.

Feel free to comment and discuss below.

Be kind to yourself and others, this is a hard month for many.

 

7 responses to “Adoption Month – November 2nd, 2023

  1. legitimatebastard

    November 2, 2023 at 9:40 pm

    My first thoughts are that I agree with you 1,000%.

    Those of us who were not allowed to know our blood kin, and whose names and birth certificates were changed, feel this loss deeply. I know I do.

    I’ll be back after I re-read this link. I’ve read it many times before and will read it again later when I have time.

    The trouble is, are the people who really need to read it, are they willing to comprehend the meaning of anything we write?

    Liked by 2 people

     
  2. Dannie

    November 13, 2023 at 9:11 pm

    I’m not sure where my thoughts lie on adoption guardianship vs straight up adoption as if one was born to you.

    I understand the thought process behind it, I also wonder if that doesn’t/wouldn’t add to the layers a child growing up in a home that isn’t the biological family even more? Maybe it has to do with how one views the term guardianship? For example I’ll be transparent and to me birth and adoption signify permanence and access to my estate when I pass. Guardianship to me unfortunately means a kid that got stuck with a relative or family friend and once they are 18 that’s it. So to me I’d have to think about it just because of how I view the words/vocabulary etc.

    Also what about those children that have a parent in the wind and one that is deceased? Does it change how a kid might view their permanency in a family?

    Anyways I don’t dislike or throw away the idea/viewpoint. Those were just my thoughts. Feel free to dissect or discuss

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      November 13, 2023 at 10:52 pm

      It’d have to be a different version than adoption or guardianship, one that took the best of both and blended the best parts together.

      Liked by 1 person

       
    • BOOKS: Sexual Assault, Loss

      November 13, 2023 at 11:33 pm

      Thank you for your opinion and honesty, Dannie. We can’t ignore the fact that estate generally figures prominently. Sadly, I have heard of cases where an adopted person was disinherited. I’m fairly certain this factor may play into the allegiance or non-allegiance perceived by adoptive parents in regard to whether an adopted person reveals a desire to know his first family. You are right: Guardianship needs to be carefully approached. There is a recent case in the news where a person thought he was adopted but found out at age 18 that he was not. The guardianship was discontinued at age 18, forcing him to realize his parents’ wealth would only be distributed to those born to the parents. For him, it was a rude awakening because the family did profit due to custody of him because he became a “celebrity” due to his money-making talents.

      Like

       
      • legitimatebastard

        November 14, 2023 at 4:12 pm

        I’d like to know who that was. Yes, either way you look at it, when a child is “taken in”, by adoption or guardianship, we don’t belong. Nothing is permanent when it is only a legal contract that can be broken.

        Like

         
      • legitimatebastard

        November 14, 2023 at 9:32 pm

        OK, my question was here, on this post! Maybe you can answer here. Try again to answer my question. Thanks, Or, send me an email through my website (forbiddenfamily.com). (I still owe you some answers from a few years ago, BOOKS, over at my website. I’ll get back to my dashboard and recover those questions … sorry… )

        Like

         

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.