RSS

Who knew she was adopted.

23 Jun

I often search for quotes on a topic, find one that resonates and then read about the person who said it.  It’s an interesting and enlightening way to learn about people.  This morning, I started with Origins, then Wisdom, then decided I’d try to find an Adoption quote that didn’t try to make adoption better than biological families, wasn’t wrapped up in destiny, wasn’t magical, pre-ordained, or mystical, just something you’d expect from a normal conversation from someone in adoption. 

I found one that met my criteria from a woman named Emily Procter, so I went to see who she was and to try to verify she’d said it.  Turns out she was on West Wing and I recognised her from her picture, she was also adopted as an infant – who knew.  I found the interview the quote was taken from.  The quote I liked:

As comfortable as I was with my adoption, the nature-versus-nurture question has been a big one for me. I adore my parents, but I always wondered if I would feel a different kind of love— not more or less, just different—for someone who was biologically related.  ~ Emily Procter

Surprisingly, I also enjoyed the interview, interesting, funny bits, and not full of fluff.  It also identifies to the reader how adoption intertwines with all aspects of your life if you’re adopted.  You can find it here. The last two sentences of the interview also gives an example of how you can talk about adoption without needing to be petty about biological families at the same time.

But after all these years of wondering, the birth of my daughter has helped me see that the love I feel for her is the same love I feel for my mother or father or Paul. For me, family love is family love, no matter what.  ~ Emily Procter

*****************

Have a safe weekend, do some self-care – whatever that is for you.  Flowers are my self-care, below is a Campanula, called a Bell Flower, they are beautiful, tough, come back every year and spread, their weakness, they don’t have strong stems so they tend to fall over from the weight of the flowers.  Still, they are beautiful, a darker hue in the shade, lighter when light passes through them.  Take care.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2017 in Adoption, adoptive parents, biological child

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Who knew she was adopted.

  1. Paige Adams Strickland

    June 23, 2017 at 4:17 pm

    Interesting read! (Both yours and Emily’s). I had my kids after meeting my birth family. We never had to wonder who our kids looked like, (or acted like). Love is Love…I agree w that, however, for me, mother-baby/child love is like another level all together. It wouldn’t make a difference for me if the kid was biological, step or adoptive. It’s just a mom-kid thing. (for me anyway)

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      June 23, 2017 at 4:18 pm

      I think so too Paige – it’s a different love, or level…

      Like

       
  2. L4R

    June 24, 2017 at 7:11 pm

    And Emily is probably even more known for CSI: Miami.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      June 24, 2017 at 10:51 pm

      True enough – but I liked her on West Wing. Did you know she was adopted?

      Like

       
  3. Dannie

    July 16, 2017 at 5:44 pm

    Awwww loved her pondering that family love is family love. There is a level of mom/kid love that is way different (if one is functional and healthy). Intricacies of adoption are there but having both….the level of unconditional love is there regardless and the level of need to protect is there regardless. Hopefully both kids can see/feel what I’ve felt later on in life if they decide to be parents themselves. I know I didn’t understand it until I had kids to love and protect. Happy summer! We’ve been busy but have been having fun. This morning was catching up on reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
