RSS

What I’ve been reading…

16 Feb

I’ve read a lot lately so thought it was time to share…

New Claims Prove the Henrietta Lacks Controversy Is Far From Over – I knew about this story years ago, her story must be remembered when you read the next story below because according to this article – if it wasn’t for her cells…

Polio then and now: the story of a crippling disease on the verge of worldwide eradication – more of a look back at history of the disease, interesting to say the least.  I did a post about what answer dad gave me when I asked him a question about what was the greatest advance during the time he practiced medicine and this vaccine was his answer.

Trauma, Race and Invisibility: The Power of Getting Woke by Melanie Chung-Sherman, a clinical social worker, transracial adoptee – deeply powerful words and advice.  Everyone should take the time to read it.

How to Love a Transracially Adopted Person by April Dinwoodie, Chief Executive of The Donaldson Adoption Institute, co-founder of Fostering Change for Children and transracial adoptee.  A powerful read that triggered a lot of nodding while reading.  Something adoptive parents should also read, knowledge is power.

How the 19th-Century Know Nothing Party Reshaped American Politics – I don’t remember learning about this in history, good read and you may even find it timely.

During World War II, the U.S. Saw Italian-Americans as a Threat to Homeland Security – had this in the draft version of the post and it somehow got deleted so I’ve edited it back in.  Good story told through the lens of a 90-year-old man who was a child when this happened.

Have you read anything good lately and want to share?

Be safe.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2017 in Adoption, adoptive parents

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “What I’ve been reading…

  1. eagoodlife

    February 16, 2017 at 10:18 pm

    Quite a few things on the Kindle – “The Market in Babies: Stories of Australian Adoption”, some omissions here but expected that, the War Babies are forgotten again; “The Tao of Fully Feeling: Harvesting Forgiveness out of Blame”; “Mr Oliver’s Object of Desire” by V.G.Lee, a writer I have recently discovered and who writes in a most entertaining way. Many other things, most by adoptees we know and love.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Dannie

    February 17, 2017 at 5:22 pm

    I read the one about loving a transracially adopted person. Interesting read. Also interesting to note that in my documents E is categorized as Black and Filipino and looking at her best friends….one is a girl and the other a boy they are Black and Filipino. Also all her 2nd grade “love interests” are of Filipino decent. Something that makes you go “hmmmm”

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      February 17, 2017 at 5:44 pm

      mirrors make you feel you belong

      Like

       
  3. Nara

    February 19, 2017 at 12:03 am

    Loving a TRA was interesting. Sometimes I feel like I haven’t properly processed my race. I’m in a long term relationship with a white guy. I’ve always gone out with white guys. I don’t dislike POC men or find them unattractive… I just rarely meet any of my race, and POC men of other races tend to go out with other POC…

    The closest thing I’d say to racial mirrors is I have very close friends who are POC, including my best friend. But we aren’t the same race. I think I tend to be drawn to black people particularly as they are more common than my race where I live. But I don’t consciously seek them out… I think we just understand that in some senses we have common understandings, being POC. I think I have so few racial mirrors in my life that I am drawn to the next best thing – other POC – but the rest of the time I’m very assimilated with white people.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      February 19, 2017 at 12:05 am

      Thank you Nara – how are you doing with the little one?

      Like

       
      • Nara

        February 19, 2017 at 12:07 am

        Ah, it is a great experience! I keep meaning to blog more but somehow don’t seem to get round to it. Almost too many feelings and thoughts to articulate nowadays. I definitely want to write something about being an adoptee and having a biological child, but I haven’t really formulated it yet…

        Like

         
        • TAO

          February 19, 2017 at 2:03 am

          when it’s right – it’ll happen. 🙂

          Like

           

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
