RSS

Wake Up Texas

13 Dec

By Shadow…

It has been over 10 years, since I, first, became involved in the fight for adoptee rights. All those years ago, I did not realize that what I had gained so easily, was a luxury to other adoptees. Sure, I had a hereditary eye disease, that would cause my total blindness, as my ace in the hole, and the knowledge of my biology handed me on a silver platter, but what was the big deal. Well, I would soon find out.

Here I sit, all these years later, stepping back into the fray, after an almost three-year break, to find that things haven’t changed all that much. After over 10 years of speaking out for the right of, all, adoptees to gain access to what is their birth right, as, a human being, their original birth certificate, I wish I could say I was surprised to find that there are still those, who believe the lies, and misconceptions from so, so long ago. So many of us have poured our hearts out, been judged, criticized, and put down, for wanting what is, rightfully, ours, and ours alone, it, seems to me, to be a bit redundant to, once again, go down that road here. So, I will not waste my time, or yours, pointing out the facts, when they are all over the internet, and easily found.

After reading a recent letter, written by a Texas State Senator, Dr. Donna Campbell, I, just, can’t sit back and be quiet. It’s the same old story, so I wont argue her points. It’s been done for years, to no avail, in my home state, of Texas. As a native Texan, it saddens me that, still, in the state I love, so dearly, that being an adoptee is so antiquated. The one statement, in her letter that struck me was when she stated, “It is not the role of government to insert itself in this process.” (source see this post)

Really? Did, I, once again, miss something? Was it alright for government to insert itself in closing adoptions, and sealing our records forever, back in the day? It seems like an awfully, convenient statement. Don’t you think?

I am, one of the lucky adoptees, that has, by knowing the names of my birth parents, gained access to my Original Birth Certificate (OBC). I did not need it to find them. All I needed was a hereditary eye disease, that caused my total blindness. My OBC is a meaningless piece of paper to everyone, but me, another post, for another day.

Come on Texas, wake up!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Wake Up Texas

  1. Heather

    December 14, 2016 at 10:01 am

    It disgusts me that it is almost 2017 and this denial of adoptee’s basic human right is still being made.

    Like

     
  2. cb

    December 14, 2016 at 11:22 am

    “Really? Did, I, once again, miss something? Was it alright for government to insert itself in closing adoptions, and sealing our records forever, back in the day? It seems like an awfully, convenient statement. Don’t you think”

    yeah exactly – you hit the nail on the head.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
