RSS

The new adoption show…

22 Oct

This Is Us

Have you watched it?  Will you continue to watch it?  Why?

Any adoptees who’ve watched it?  Reactions?

The only adoptee voice I’ve seen is this article, and quite frankly, her reaction is why I haven’t looked to see if I could watch it on demand, I can’t imagine it would be anything other than traumatic to watch.

Randall On ‘This Is Us’ Forgave His Dad, But As An Adopted Child, It’s Not That Easy

Yet, adoptive parents are seemingly gaga over this show, makes it clear how different positions in adoption view things so differently.

I’ve never watched any of those reality I’m having a baby adoption shows either, never will, can’t see anything beneficial in watching a baby lose it’s mother, seeing as I was one of those babies.

 

 

 

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2016 in Adoption

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “The new adoption show…

  1. Dannie

    October 22, 2016 at 10:25 pm

    I can watch the show as an adoptive parent and have different feelings on it, but am wondering what many adoptees feel like. This is also just one of the many intricacies of the show, so it’s also easy to see why people fall in love with the witty sister yet obviously with self esteem issues and the other brother who definitely has self esteem issues.
    Spoiler alert: The plot goes back and forth between the parents that adopted Randall and his siblings which are twins and part of a triplet set but one died at birth and somehow the parents were able to adopt Randall before going home because they had to complete their three……obvious issues too stems from that, then flashes forward to these three individuals and how they are navigating life as grown ups each with their own obvious issues….the adoption angle is definitely more prominent though.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 22, 2016 at 10:33 pm

      I’m curious too how it affects other adoptees – I’m not into watching something that is going to cause me stress.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. faithinflipflopssite

    October 23, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    I watch it and at times struggle with the adoption aspects. My birth mother and at least one birth sister also watch it. Having my mom to talk with after we have both seen the most recent episode makes it bearable. We also both watched TLC’s series Long Lost Family together…THAT was rough, bringing up major emotions for both of us.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 23, 2016 at 5:02 pm

      Thanks Faith…I only have this blog as an outlet now…hubby would be fine with me talking about it but so doesn’t get it that it’s just not worth it…

      Perhaps later, when I’ve adjusted to my new normal, I’ll watch.

      Like

       
      • faithinflipflopssite

        October 23, 2016 at 5:05 pm

        I understand. I can’t talk to my adoptive family at all, my husband doesn’t always understand but he has been helpful in the journey.

        Like

         
        • TAO

          October 23, 2016 at 5:09 pm

          Mine too – he’s ready to slay dragons for me, not able to understand the raw… 🙂 but he’ll always try to be there…

          Liked by 1 person

           
  3. Nara

    October 23, 2016 at 5:11 pm

    Haven’t seen it as I don’t think it’s showing in the UK. 😑

    Like

     
  4. Kaisa

    October 24, 2016 at 5:46 pm

    Interesting, no i have never seen it. I don’t think i could stomach it. It is hard enough to read about other adoptees’ experiences online.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 24, 2016 at 5:53 pm

      That’s my problem too…

      Like

       
  5. yan

    October 25, 2016 at 3:20 am

    I got through one episode — the pilot’s “TWIST” wasn’t out yet, and I had no idea. And I HATED IT. I think the scene between the adopted man and his first father, whom he’s just found, is remarkably well-written and acted, as it shows the utter overwhelming confusion of reunion, even when the adoptee searched. But no, I am absolutely not in for the long haul here. But I do know a few adoptees who are, and I look forward to hearing from them about this.

    Adoption is just not fun as a freaking dramatic plot twist for me.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      October 25, 2016 at 4:26 pm

      I didn’t see your comment Yan. I agree with your last statement sooo much. Let me know what the others say…

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. Lara/Trace

    October 27, 2016 at 12:04 am

    I rarely watch TV Tao, but I did read that post. Many “abandoned” stories are concocted for adoptive parents. She was left in a basket, he was left on a doorstep. Traffickers are clever. And I doubt any of it is true.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 27, 2016 at 3:19 am

      No idea why you went to moderation. I’d guess many aren’t, or not from a parent anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
