RSS

Wanting your input on adoption and ethics…

08 Sep

Good morning, today, I’m asking you for your help.  For you to share the wisdom you’ve learned being in adoption.  Things you’d wished you’d known going in – that you only learned after.  For you to use your words in ways that are constructive, productive, definitive, and most importantly of all – can be heard by those new to adoption.  Without all four components present in your words, they can’t benefit anyone in the future, that much I know.

I’ve spoken before about Adoptive Black Mom’s blog (ABM) and the podcast she does with Mimi, another AP (Add Water and Stir).  They both came to adoption via Foster Care, their honesty about life, and feelings in general is what draws me to read and listen to what they say.  I read both blogs ABM and Mimi and listen to their podcasts.  I think they can and will make a difference, so, I’m asking you to go and give them your thoughts on what makes an adoption ethical.

Adoption is always going to be around, and needed, they are using their voice to make it more transparent, ethical, better for the children – you can help.  Take a moment to think of what you wished you’d known that you want those coming to adoption to know.

 

If you’d rather not post your thoughts on FB, post them below.

Thank you in advance, I know you won’t let me down.

 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2016 in Adoption, adoptive parents

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Wanting your input on adoption and ethics…

  1. Tiffany

    September 8, 2016 at 8:45 pm

    What a great idea! I would contribute, but only anonymously as I don’t share details about my daughter’s adoption openly online (or always IRL, either), and some of the “wish I had knowns” would tread into those areas I feel don’t belong to me to share publicly. If they have a way to share anonymously, could you let me know?

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      September 8, 2016 at 9:02 pm

      I’ll check the anonymous commenting, or I can put you on moderation here copy your comment (and delete) and post for you aka anonymous over there. I think there is an email too – then you can choose which option works best…be back momentarily…

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • TAO

        September 8, 2016 at 9:14 pm

        Tiffany – The podcast link below has an email address, as well as both ABM’s and Mimi’s emails and twitter details – you can also leave a phone message, or just post a comment using Anonymous plus email that isn’t published – for what it’s worth, I trust them, been talking to ABM for a long time now. So, that, or I can put you on moderation so the comment won’t show up on the blog and then I can forward. Your call.
        http://www.addwaterandstirpodcast.com/

        Like

         
  2. AdoptiveBlackMom

    September 8, 2016 at 10:29 pm

    Yes, please leave us a VM or an email at feedback@ awaspod. com and let us know to keep yiu anon. We totally understand.

    Super thanks Tao!

    Like

     
    • Tiffany

      September 9, 2016 at 7:38 pm

      Thank you TAO and AdoptiveBlackMama. I will do that!

      Like

       
  3. Paige Adams Strickland

    September 8, 2016 at 11:58 pm

    Truth is always best practice. Simple as that. P.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • TAO

      September 9, 2016 at 1:45 pm

      Agree Paige – in every step, no BS…

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. AdoptiveNYMomma

    September 9, 2016 at 12:33 am

    I think it would have helped if there were more resource identified. I needed a lot of medical assistance for one child and mental health for the other. I spent a lot of time trying to find the resources I would need and it would have been easier if someone told you where to go for information or if there was a resource site that could have been used. I also think it would help if people were real about their struggles with kids not to bring people down but because if you go in thinking sunshine and roses then you might get hurt and feel betrayed in the end because your experience was not what “everyone else” has.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      September 9, 2016 at 1:44 pm

      The post adoption needs a whole wake up call and fixing – help and people to turn to should be a primary focus. Yes, it needs to be real not skipping across a flower filled field into the sunset – how to do that while protecting identifies also needs to be considered. Thank you.

      Like

       
  5. Laksh

    September 9, 2016 at 1:20 am

    Done! Commented on their FB page.

    Liked by 2 people

     
    • TAO

      September 9, 2016 at 1:41 pm

      Thank you so much Laksh – you’re the best.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
