RSS

Family trees…

14 Aug

I’d made progress on my family tree on my father-by-birth’s side after the 1940 census was released, but then, I’d hit a brick wall and put it aside in sheer annoyance because without family stories, you don’t have any clues. 

About a week or so ago, I decided I was going to try again and managed to break down the brick wall.  I got tantalizing closer to finding out where that line originated from, but my mind can only take so much at a time before it’s done.  Yesterday, I got closer still but only into the mid 1700’s.  Today I made it back to England for one of my sets of 9x’s great grandparents who came to America in 1630 on a ship called the Ambrose.

And you know what?

I wanted to call mom and tell her that they came in the same decade as dad’s ancestors came, they came to Massachusetts, just like dad’s did.  Not the same town, but close.  But of course, I can’t call her anymore, so here I am telling you instead.

Then I tried to figure out how many sets of grandparents I’d have at 9xgreat grandparents.  If my math is right and none of them overlap – at that level I’d have 2,048 sets of grandparents, i.e. 2 parents, 4 grandparents, 8 grandparents, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1,024 2,048…or am I doing the math wrong?  Anybody know?

Then double that if I managed to get that far in both mom and dad’s family trees and my two trees and manage to complete all the lines back.  I know I can’t get that far back in mom’s or my mother-by-birth trees, I’ve done most of dad’s…which then feeds into a whine, why is the paternal lines/surname continuance the focus with the maternal lines just mentions…

Does any of that make sense?  My brain is exhausted and exhilarated.

I also found a quote I liked in lineage book in a chapter on Heraldry in a book published in 1901 detailing the genealogy of a family.  The quote is not attributed to anyone.

“He who careth not whence he cometh, careth little whither he goeth.” 

 

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Family trees…

  1. Heather

    August 15, 2016 at 5:34 am

    That is so exciting … and the numbers are mind-blowing!

    Like

     
  2. Paige Adams Strickland

    August 15, 2016 at 11:32 am

    I like that quote! So you have researched both your adoptive and birth family trees?

    Like

     
    • TAO

      August 15, 2016 at 1:33 pm

      I’ve done all four trees – dad’s is my favorite by far because of the stories he told.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. MKW

    August 16, 2016 at 12:05 am

    Great quote!

    Like

     
  4. L4R

    August 17, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    Well, aside from the obvious answers of paternalism and sexism, I’d say you answered your question. The paternal line tends to get more attention because that’s the surname we hold. It’s a long line of people who share the same last name. The continuity is comforting.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      August 17, 2016 at 6:48 pm

      I know L4R – it’s just so damn frustrating…and then once you connect a husband, searches bring up all sorts of irrelevant leads because it’s in the married name…still love it…

      Like

       
      • L4R

        August 17, 2016 at 9:14 pm

        Yep. It can be near impossible (at times) to find a link to the past once the maiden name has been discarded. Very frustrating.

        Like

         

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
