RSS

You can’t change the definition of adoptee rights…

14 Jul

I’m exhausted today, so I’m reading pages on Facebook to whittle away the day.  And my wanderings took me to looking at posts with the hashtag #AdopteeRights, one correct, the other one – not so much..

This is the first one that caught my eye, on Michigan Open Access page with this comment: “This is on a Michigan amended birth certificate, stating the birth facts are true and correct! #adopteerights #wewantrealbirthfacts #giveustruth and the picture attached was the wording on a birth certificate: “I hereby certify that the above is a true and correct representation of the birth facts on file with the Division for Vital Records, Michigan Department of Community Health”.

The next one is from The New American Family page that has this comment: “Because a child deserves to experience their history. #openadoption #adopteerights above a picture captioned with “Open Adoption For Adoptee Rights”

Now, I won’t quibble with the sentiment about openness, although, I suspect it had more to do with increasing the number of women willing to surrender their parental rights so the child could be adopted, than for the child.

I will adamantly quibble with distorting what adoptee rights is.  It has nothing to do with open adoptions.  It has everything to do with having the same rights non-adopted citizens have – the right to their Original Birth Certificate that has the facts of their birth documented/confirmed by both the person who delivered the baby, and the mother who birthed the child.

And just a reminder: Just because you obtained a copy of the child’s OBC before the adoption, the child, as an adult, still does not have the same rights as a non-adopted citizen in a closed state in regards to accessing their original birth certificate.  They will still be denied by the state, the non-adopted won’t.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2016 in Adoption, adoptive parents

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “You can’t change the definition of adoptee rights…

  1. beth62

    July 15, 2016 at 2:10 pm

    “Open Adoption For Adoptee Rights”

    That is an odd statement. I dont think I get it, it doesnt make much sense to me. Are they really trying to say open adoption is a right of adoptees? who is Open Adoption and do they support Adoptee Rights? Too twisty for me I think.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      July 17, 2016 at 6:34 pm

      I don’t know Beth – it doesn’t make a whole of sense. It is also co-opting a long-standing term used by adoptees for a goal to restore a right we used to have – and turning it into something completely different…

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
