RSS

Christmas…

21 Dec

Christmas.  I love the season, the Christmas carols, homes decorated to the nines.  It all makes me happy inside. Christmas trees all decked out, especially those with one-of-a-kind ornaments collected over the years, so, that, every ornament brings out its own memories of the story behind it.

Love the light displays – they make me feel the magic in the holidays, I can wander around looking at them for hours.

I have wonderful memories of Christmas.  Warm memories filled with laughter, wonderful smells of Christmas dinner cooking.  Sitting at the table enjoying the dinner of carefully prepared home cooked food, family and friends gathered round, and then, the table games that followed creating much laughter.

Good memories.

As I get older, I enjoy those memories even more.  They balance the sad memories that also hold a part of my heart.  You can’t live life without having both types of memories, so I’m thankful I have so many good memories.

Now to my confession.  I only do Christmas decorations once in a while at my home.

Some years, I pull out all my Christmas decorations, and spend the next couple of days decorating the house.  Every ornament I’ve acquired over the years, each with their own story, carefully wrapped to prevent damage, unwrapped, and placed lovingly in just the right spot.  All treasures, some decades old, some new.

I love my home decked out, it’s beautiful, unique, and very me.

Some years are just too hard to decorate because of losses, especially one that happened at Christmas time.  Other years, I’m not physically able to do it.  Sometimes it’s both.

This year it’s both; and people in my life are more important than decorations.

I’m still happy it’s Christmas.  I’ll still enjoy the Christmas movies, carols, the hustle and bustle, time spent with friends and family.  I learned a long time ago that you don’t need decorations to create the spirit of Christmas, you just need love in your heart, and a willingness, to enjoy the spirit of the holiday.

If you celebrate Christmas, I wish you many wonderful memories made this year.

To everyone – I wish you all the best.  Stay safe.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

17 responses to “Christmas…

  1. Tara-Anita Brown

    December 21, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    Wishing you a Wonderful, Warm & Safe Christmas too!!! 🙂

    Like

     
    • TAO

      December 22, 2015 at 12:04 am

      Thank you Tara-Anita…I appreciate it… 🙂

      Like

       
  2. AdoptiveBlackMom

    December 21, 2015 at 6:11 pm

    Best wishes Tao! 🙂 ❤

    Like

     
    • TAO

      December 22, 2015 at 12:03 am

      You too ABM – you inspire me – just remember that.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. Von

    December 21, 2015 at 10:05 pm

    Have a very happy Christmas! I love it too and in recent years for it’s unpredictability. This year my Daughter is away travelling, having adventures and it will be quiet, calm and undecorated. I’ll enjoy the food and the peace. ❤

    Like

     
    • TAO

      December 22, 2015 at 12:02 am

      I was going to have a quiet one too Von – plans changed and now I am cooking dinner elsewhere – wish me luck, it will take me a couple of days to get over the tired and be able to string more than a couple words together. I wish you the best…

      Like

       
  4. iwishiwasadopted

    December 21, 2015 at 11:51 pm

    Merry Christmas!

    Like

     
    • TAO

      December 22, 2015 at 12:00 am

      You to iwish – stay happy and safe…

      Like

       
  5. cb

    December 22, 2015 at 12:44 am

    Hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas! I’ll be working this year but will cook myself a roast chicken for dinner. None of us will be getting together this year for Christmas.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      December 22, 2015 at 4:14 am

      I wish you cheer even though you are working…

      Like

       
      • cb

        December 22, 2015 at 12:04 pm

        Thanks TAO. I will only be working for four hours (10-2pm) so if it is nice in the evening, I think I’ll go for a walk along the breakwater and beach.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  6. beth62

    December 22, 2015 at 3:43 am

    Merry Christmas to all ♡

    So many happy and warm christmas memories 🙂 So many special ornaments to bring them all back. I’d need several trees to hang them all, I still unwrapped them, told their story to people that love me, and put them back in the box. I hung my very favorites on the tree.
    What a great feeling it is to sit near this tree full of memories and love, lit up with colorful lights, in last years christmas pj’s, hot peppermint tea in hand, while we stuff our faces full of delicious homemade christmas cookies and candies of all kinds 🙂

    I love Christmas, a time when even sad memories can become happy ones.

    Best wishes to Santa, Happy Birthday to Jesus, and Good Luck (((TAO)))

    Like

     
    • TAO

      December 22, 2015 at 4:16 am

      You sound like me Beth – when I decorate I have to pick the ones to hang. The mantle gets some, the Christmas village gets others…still haven’t found a way to set up the train…and yet, every other day my house is pretty plain…Best to you and yours…

      Like

       
  7. pj

    December 22, 2015 at 1:38 pm

    Warm holiday wishes from the Sunshine State☀️and as always-thankful for the gift 🎁of this blog.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      December 22, 2015 at 5:01 pm

      Cheers…you and cb with warm weather almost makes me jealous…but I still like snow…

      Like

       
      • pj

        December 22, 2015 at 9:34 pm

        TAO-I still have much warm appreciation for my Northern birth/adoption state which gave me the gift of my OBC. The Sunshine State is not so sunny in that respect ! Toes in the sand now but most fond of those white Christmas memories 🙂

        Like

         
      • cb

        December 22, 2015 at 9:45 pm

        I have to say my most miserable Christmas ever was when I lived in the UK in the mid 1980s (there wasn’t even snow) due to being stuck alone in my rented room (not even being able to use the kitchen or go downstairs) and there being no trains running so I couldn’t even go into central London – I would have liked to perhaps help out on Christmas Day. Having said that, I would like one day to have a Northern Christmas – perhaps somewhere where snow is guaranteed 🙂

        The *good* thing about that above Christmas is that every other Christmas I’ve had has been a vast improvement 🙂

        Like

         

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
