RSS

Do you look deeper?

27 Oct

Butterfly BushI’ve always had a few hummingbirds in my yard each summer as I have enough perennials they are drawn too, along with the few annuals I plant each spring.  I also have flowering shrubs that bloom at different times of the season, including a Buddleia, commonly known as a Butterfly Bush.  This year, we cut the Buddleia back to the base of its trunk so we knew it wouldn’t be the prolific bloomer this summer, like it was prior years, so I decided to add a hummingbird feeder.

Having that hummingbird feeder gave me a better glimpse into the life they lead, at least the life one pair that stops by the feeder several times each day, leads.  Before the feeder, I never gave much thought to them, I just enjoyed watching them flitting from one flower to the next, their beauty, their amazing speed and agility to dart quickly to each flower, and their ability to hover while they drank the nectar.  I didn’t know they also like to sit and watch what happens around them, silent, not moving, just sitting on the wrought iron hanger the feeder hangs from.  Having the feeder so close to my kitchen window allowed me to learn that what I thought I knew about them was incomplete.

What’s the point of this post?  Nothing except it’s a good reminder that there is always more than what you casually see.  That it applies to a person’s experience too.  Watch closely, listen to the words chosen, what’s on the surface, what you think you see, may not be everything that is.  That’s what I want to say to people who want to paint people and experiences in adoption as only positive or negative.  If you think that from surface level observing, you may have not looked deep enough.  Have a good week.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2015 in Adoption

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “Do you look deeper?

  1. Lara/Trace

    October 27, 2015 at 5:33 pm

    There is something wondrous about watching birds. We are all related, even to them.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Eve Messenger

    October 27, 2015 at 6:55 pm

    Nice post. Hummingbirds are my good luck charm. I wish I could put out feeders and enjoy them in my yard more, but I think my cats would enjoy them first, and not in a good way.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 27, 2015 at 7:02 pm

      Thankfully my cats are ancient and can’t do much more than watch so they are allowed in that part of the yard – and the birds seemed to have figured it out.

      Like

       
  3. pj

    October 28, 2015 at 12:56 am

    Wonderful post/timing and words of wisdom to “look deeper” as we approach National Adoption Month.
    TAO-My pooch tries to chase away the cormorants on our dock….but they just spread their wings and stay put …unlike the other birds who fly away when he gets too close to “the surface”..

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      October 28, 2015 at 3:09 am

      That’s funny, love animal stories, they create joy for those watching…

      Like

       
  4. beth62

    October 28, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    Lovely post. Sometimes you don’t notice things until they are right up in your face.
    I was working in the garden and swatting at horseflies and freaking out at the big yellow stump hornets that hover a few inches from your nose, not to mention all of the other bugs, bees and wasps that fly by to visit that you think are hornets too… I get used to them after a while and stop freaking out and flailing so much in fear of getting stung or bit, then what I think is a buzzing horsefly or hornet hovering 6 inches from my face, so close your eyes cross if you look at them… was really a baby hummingbird. I looked closer (well, really backed up so i could focus!)and saw they were everywhere!! watching me and zipping all around like the big ones do. They sat on top of a high fence and watched me until some big ones came around and they all took off across the field in a little hummingbird cloud. They came to visit me everyday.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 28, 2015 at 1:57 pm

      Wow, that would be amazing, wonder if they thought you were just a big flower?

      I’m still bemused that I assumed they always flew, never sat like other birds do. I felt very ignorant…

      Like

       
      • beth62

        October 29, 2015 at 1:10 pm

        I didn’t know they had feet either til I read about them, glad they do, that sounds exhausting. I read where they put a band on their leg to try and track the migration to mexico. Can you imagine catching one?! and then putting a band on it’s tiny leg!
        I can assure you that I did not smell like a flower LOL. I think they were being territorial. I had to move the feeders away from our deck and porch because the numerous big ones would constantly dive bomb us when we were out there. I was afraid they would get a grand smack down by me or someone else. Mostly I just got tired of ducking and flinching in fear… you know, so afraid of the killer attack hummingbirds.

        Like

         
  5. cb

    October 28, 2015 at 11:07 pm

    We don’t have hummingbirds down here. Apparently, the smallest Australian bird is the weebill:

    I’ve become more of a birdwatcher since moving up north and I do have a bird book called “What bird is that” (although of course there are many websites that are of great help in identifying a bird):
    http://www.booktopia.com.au/what-bird-is-that–neville-w-cayley/prod9780987070104.html

    There is a field near where I live which when I walked through it the first time, all these things were flying around me and I had no idea what they were because they were constantly on the move and I could never get a good look at any of them. From what I can work out they are welcome swallows although I’ve not seen a still one yet lol. Other common birds can be interesting in their own way, eg if one observes a common bird called the Masked Lapwing (a type of plover), one can see that it is a very family oriented bird and rarely moves from its locale. Also, I kept seeing this white bird among a group of magpies when walking to the shops and after a few times, I realised that it was a magpie – it apparently had leucism. I could see where the markings were supposed to be but instead of the markings being black, they were a light brown. He hung around on the ground quite a bit and I suspect that many people who walked past him probably never realised what a rarity he was (it is apparently one in a million, however I think it is more common that that up here (and considering how common magpies are, that probably means there are a few around)).

    As for looking deeper in every day life, I think that people don’t always want to do so. It is much easier to look at the superficial outcome than to look at the reasons why people might come to that outcome. If someone expresses a positive view of X because of their negative view of Y, is that necessarily positive overall?

    Like

     
    • beth62

      October 29, 2015 at 12:42 pm

      I don’t know cb 🙂
      I do know if my negative view is largely due to fear, sometimes the positives are hard to see… so in fear I typically swat at it in a panic, when i am not sure what it is, before it can sting me.

      Like

       
    • TAO

      October 29, 2015 at 2:56 pm

      I remember dad being fascinated by the birds, wildlife, flower on trips, he loved his trip to Australia and the trips to New Zealand – everything was different, new, beautiful. (my trip to NZ I got to go on boat into a cave with “glow bugs” I think they were called – it was magical, I close my eyes and can picture it, still, so many years later…

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
