RSS

Brilliant post by Lori….

03 Jun

Dear TX Senator Donna Campbell,

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2015 in Adoption, adoptive parents

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Brilliant post by Lori….

  1. Karine Cichocki

    June 3, 2015 at 6:10 pm

    Reblogged this on karinecichocki's Blog and commented:
    Yes, Lori has hit the nail on the head with eloquence and grace. Adoption sealed record laws confuse privacy with secrecy, fear and shame. A beautiful letter I repost here. Thank you too Tao for posting the link to your blog.

    Like

     
  2. L4R

    June 4, 2015 at 12:44 am

    Fantastic!

    I did not know that the senator thought money was a reason we’d want to find our biological families.

    Which is it, America? Were we saved from a life of poverty, or are we gold diggers?

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      June 4, 2015 at 3:02 pm

      L4R we are all things thrown at us, both the reasons why being adopted is wonderful, and excuses why we aren’t to be trusted – we were saved from abortions (everyone of us), we came from unfit parents who were likely drug addicts and/or prostitutes and other low life’s, and we were also likely to be the product of rape and/or incest (again, all us), we also are gold diggers because our adoption allowed them to turn their life around and now we want to cash in, but they are likely dangerous people to meet because there is a reason why they didn’t parent us (all of us), we are also out for revenge for being given away, we are bitter, despite the PAL saying of being loved so much that they placed us (everyone of us)…

      The above is how twisted people really are – NOT what I think, just how I see us portrayed by both folks who think adoption is the best thing since sliced ham, and the general public. Wish they could settle on either / or – not both…

      Like

       
      • beth62

        June 4, 2015 at 5:15 pm

        Absolutely agree. Except you forgot serial killer…

        I do wish they would pick tho.

        I feel like I have not prepared enough for my expected serial killer roll.
        The training could take a while, and I really like to be the best I can be at the duties I’ve been given.

        Wondering if my agency has any resources available to help me prepare…

        Like

         
    • beth62

      June 4, 2015 at 4:08 pm

      Have to wonder if the senators adopted daughters original parents (or the grandparents) have money?

      I’ve never heard that excuse used before in that way, seems odd to me she would use it in that way. I have heard the money theory as a fantasy, similar to the rich uncle theory everyone can fantasize about.

      Sure would make it easier to determine what is behind the senators personal excuse if we knew who the adopted childs original parents are.

      One thing i do know – the OBC is not always always needed to find this info.

      Plenty of proof of that around, maybe some more proof of that will be provided for the senator…

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. L4R

    June 4, 2015 at 7:47 pm

    I know, Tao. It’s just depressing.

    I thought our adoptive parents were the ones who had the money. You know, the whole pony and pool assumption about adoptees.

    When I found my father, his girlfriend assumed that I grew up wealthy. Crazy…. Nope. I grew up middle class.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  4. Beth62

    August 19, 2015 at 6:08 pm

    L4R,
    I just had someone assume out loud to me that I must have a nice trust fund and a paid for college degree – since I was adopted like him and seem to be doing good things with my money too.
    Assumed I lived in my parent’s old house.
    wth
    I just met him today, I was thinking of buying a piece of equipment that I can’t really afford from him… was.
    He had heard from some people we both know that I was adopted, like him.
    Had to tell him, nope it’s all me, all of my parents are still living, elsewhere, no funds and no pony or pool – lucky you…

    Then he assumed that my original parents must have been different than his. ???
    I asked and he doesn’t know who his parents are or anything about them other than they were in college, and is “fine” about that…

    Huh?? Does that make any sense? I can’t figure out what he meant.
    I might not be able to translate Fog anymore, I don’t get it.
    Am I missing something?
    I didn’t waste my time asking him,
    I ran!

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
