RSS

A pair of stilts…

24 Jan

Lately, my thoughts keep returning to my memories about a pair of stilts I had as a child.  I don’t know how old I was when I received them, somewhere around middle childhood is my best guess.  I was raised in a fairly frugal home, I’m sure my tricycle was a hand-me-down, and I know my first bike definitely was, but I don’t remember caring it wasn’t new, I had a bike!

But getting back to the stilts, whether we had a pair of store-bought stilts that raised you a foot (or so) off the ground, or the neighbor kids did, I knew how to walk on stilts and loved being taller.  I was also short, very short compared to everyone else in the family.

My birthday came around and dad called me into the garage to give me the present he had made for me…

Stilts, that I could adjust the height I would be by unscrewing the wing-nut, and moving the foot hold up to the next set of notches as my skill level grew, and then screwing the wing-nut back on.  Dad has shaved down the hard angles on the square boards so they were rounded and my hands could get a good grip.  I practiced, practiced, and practiced some more, so that I could eventually run across the ground on those stilts that made me taller than my siblings, and in my mind, almost as tall as dad.

Of all the presents I received as a child – that pair of stilts dad made for me with his time, and a couple of pieces of wood…that was, and still is, the best present ever…

Money doesn’t matter as much as being loved does…

What was your favorite present?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 24, 2015 in Adoption, adoptive parents

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “A pair of stilts…

  1. cb

    January 24, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    I remember being really excited one Christmas about getting a couple of basketweave chairs – I’ve been trying to find a picture of what they looked like but the closest I could find was this:

    http://www.vintagefollyfarm.co.uk/retro-1960s-plastic-basketweave-childs-chair-sold-108-p.asp

    They weren’t the same colour but are similar in style.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      January 24, 2015 at 9:08 pm

      I remember those chairs – they would have been great to get… 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Beth

    January 29, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    TAO,
    I love reading your Dad stories.
    My favorite presents were ones my Dad had made or repaired, even when they were not so perfect…
    I still have my little red wagon, Dad repaired/replaced the handle, the axle, wheel, and painted it several times and different colors depending on the paint on hand. I’ve painted it several times too, I think it is mostly paint now, but it still works and I use it all the time :).
    If that wagon could talk….
    I enjoy the jokes from hubby about what he was doing when I was pulling my little red wagon around.

    You know, you can still walk on stilts no matter your age, well, if you can walk on stilts.
    I’ve used them for years at work, for picking apples, and for doing stuff around the house LOL I’m all for anything that makes life easier. Plus I really like being tall 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • TAO

      January 29, 2015 at 3:17 pm

      We had a little red wagon too – pretty sure dad painted it as well because there wasn’t any logo on it.

      They made things better back then, you could fix them instead of trashing it them and getting new. That reminds me that I have a post sitting in drafts – will have to find it and finish it…

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
