RSS

A book…

23 Oct

By TAO

The other day something in the title of a book or film (honestly can’t remember what), triggered a memory that took me all the way back to my teen years.  Way back in time to a different era, when my feelings about being adopted were at their most tumultuous.  Those feelings as a teen were hard, harder than any before, or since then.  Bad time for me being an adopted teen.

What it triggered was the memory of a book that made a huge impact on me at the time.  The book? The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton originally published in 1967.  I had never read a book that captured so many feelings I felt as teen about being adopted, or at least that’s how my brain connected the storyline to my feelings.  Today, I didn’t remember the storyline, just how it important that book was to me then, so I searched and found this link that tells about it to refresh my memory.

Have you read The Outsiders?  Was there another book that affected you so that decades later you still remember it?

 

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2014 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “A book…

  1. mgmcrae3

    October 23, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Great post, as usual. I will definitely have to read this book!

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 24, 2014 at 3:13 am

      It really made an impact then, whether I would relate as an adult – I don’t know, if you read it come back and find this thread – I’d be interested to know.

      Like

       
  2. Beth

    October 23, 2014 at 7:11 pm

    I read that one then too! And also now can’t remember the words that struck me.
    This one influenced me greatly and stuck with me – My Side Of The Mountain.
    So much, I lived it myself for a very long time.
    I read it now and it all seems so simple.

    I’m guessing my interest in the book, besides surviving in the wilderness, was about something like this:
    “The novel ends as Sam meditates on the fact that, even if he went across the Pacific Ocean to get away from people, he still craves friendship and family. His journey in life, he decides, is about balancing his desire to live off the land with his desire to be with the people he loves.”

    Like

     
    • Beth

      October 23, 2014 at 7:11 pm

       
      • TAO

        October 24, 2014 at 3:12 am

        Sounds like a fabulous book…a true adventure and survivor story…so many wonderful books. I wonder how technology will be for the current and future generations – will they read like we did or will they be to overwhelmed with their friends and games?

        Like

         
        • Beth

          October 24, 2014 at 2:56 pm

          I think kids today still read plenty. Most of the younger ones I’ve been around do and did when little. My daughter is a book hog, and a blog hog, but now her reading is all about, negotiating the deal, working with men, leadership and all that boring sales crap and how to make millions before yer 40. I have no doubt in her. She closed on her brand new house today, and didn’t need a dime from me, read on baby girl.

          But just like always I am sure, some of them you have to sit on their head to make them get through one page, like my son! arrgg
          Then he went to college haha. And his first book there was Cinderella, BUAHAHAHA, served him right, we got an A on our essay. With one book and conversations with mom, he’s learned quite a bit about the Cinderella complex, feminism and all sorts of things, and that mom knows stuff he had no idea about. Such a shocked and wise 20 yr old from one book. He said he’s even considering reading another entire book, depending on how thick it is…

          Like

           
  3. Yan

    October 24, 2014 at 1:33 am

    I read The Outsiders, but it didn’t click for me. I read a lot, and that’s what saved me from my own teenaged years. One that sticks out and sticks with me, even if I can’t remember the proper title, is one of Anne McCaffrey’s books about Pern. It might be the Harper of Pern. About a young woman who knows what she wants to do and who she wants to be even though everyone tells her she can’t. (She’s right and she wins that battle).

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 24, 2014 at 3:08 am

      I was a voracious reader as well, especially in my teen years, but that carried over into adulthood, something I have trouble doing since the stroke, just not the same – but before, I could escape into a story and that was the best.

      I knew the name Anne Caffrey so I looked up the title and the link is below. Of all the genre’s I could never get into science fiction or fantasy.

      http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/614558.Dragon_Harper

      Like

       
  4. Beth

    October 24, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Did you ever read some of the paperbacks in the Teen Book section of the Library back then?
    The dramatic, romantic junk section?
    Some of those books really stuck with me, could have bypassed them.
    I am sure they would be rated G now LOL, but they sure seemed racy back then.
    Sort of like the music of the time, they burned the albums then, now the same songs are in cartoons and kids movies.
    I remember one of the story lines was about a pregnant girl, and how she ran off and tried to survive, had to hide, some guy was helping her… a safe non-sexual handsome protecting guy of course.
    I can guess why my interest in that one and why I would remember this silly book, still.

    The other books mentioned seem to have surviving the scary journey, proving others wrong, proving themselves as right and searching for independence in common.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
