RSS

Another post of links…

20 Jul

By TAO

Round up of posts and articles that have caught my attention recently and gave me something to think about…

Red Thread Broken has two new posts, and you need to read the first, to understand the second.  The first post has been seen by many, and won’t be new to some (most?) who read this blog, but I’m linking it here just in case.  When you read the second post, I hope you will see exactly what the concern is, and I hope you will start a conversation in your group about how to fix this obvious problem within the adoption community.  It is a problem, always has been a problem, and we need to fix it now.  I’d also ask that if you do talk about it, and have any suggestions on how to change the mindset in the adoption community at large, that you come back and talk about it in the comments.

Why I (An Adoptive Parent) Am Not Pro-Adoption

Simultaneous Frustration and Gratitude on Being Freshly Pressed

This next article could easily be revised from the workplace into a primer for people in adoption on how to read an adoptee’s blog (see above).  How to Take Criticism Well

A thoughtful post by Mothermade: Children are not commodities … unless they are adoptees.

Two posts from Share Your Adoption Stories one quick read Adoption “runs in the family” for us.  The second a bit longer about the changing feelings of an adoptee I feel invigorated and depressed. Satisfied and empty. Loved and confused. — Yoonie P.

My last link is to another post that I deeply appreciated and is not about adoption.  From Voices from the Margins, a post by Carol A. Hand Musings While Cleaning Rocks

The picture below isn’t from the post above, just one of my favorite pictures from a holiday taken decades ago and thought it was a great way to end this post.  Have a great week all…

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2014 in Adoption, adoptive parents

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Another post of links…

  1. carolahand

    July 20, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    Thank you, TAO. I appreciate your kind words and your reblog 🙂

    Like

     
    • TAO

      July 20, 2014 at 7:41 pm

      I hope everyone stops by to read it, it’s worth it.

      Like

       
  2. Beth

    July 22, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    Thanks for the links 🙂
    The only thing I know that may help with changing the mindset of the adoption community at large is – to keep talking, keep typing.

    I have noticed people “hear” my adult daughter when she speaks of adoption to her piers.
    My thinking on this is, she’s not the adopted one, yet she has experienced adoption in her life because of me and her grandparents, it’s easier for people to hear from her some not-so-pro information.
    I think her piers are the ones that need to be reached. They are in their 20’s 30’s – the ones in their family building years. She and her friends often have conversations about building families in one way or another. They are the ones to reach now, imo. And they don’t want to hear much from an old lady like me – everything is different now, what do I know about anything?!!

    Like

     
  3. shareyouradoptionstory

    July 22, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    Thank you for the repost! Share Your Adoption Story went live on 7/18, we’re just getting started. Much more to come!

    Like

     
  4. onewomanschoice

    July 23, 2014 at 12:33 am

    Thanks for sharing these great thought provoking post.

    Like

     
  5. 我是收养

    July 23, 2014 at 8:50 am

    Thanks so much for the shout-out! It means a lot. I’m glad that my recent blog posts were thought-provoking.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
