RSS

Who is Shadow?

02 Aug

By TAO

A few days back I found an article on a new device that was developed in Israel for the visually impaired called OrCam.

I had to read it because of Shadow.

After reading what this new device could do to help her, perhaps not as much as it can for some of the visually impaired, but amazing to think of what it could mean to her, I quickly forwarded the link on to her because it is available in September in the US.  She was excited – something that she could wear, and while it wouldn’t make her able to see, it would convert text to voice, and, identify people coming into her line of vision she had previously identified.  Who knows what other wonderful things that camera, microphone, and very small computer (that looks like it could fit in her back pocket) could do to open up her world.  Just even having the ability to read the menu in a restaurant, a magazine, book, newspaper, cook book.  Things sighted people like myself, take for granted every single day.

Shadow does have text to voice on her computer.  When she purchased the software called JAWS by Freedom Scientific, the cost was $900 and updates are $120 per year.  That software has connected her to a social support system and how she and I became friends in the first place.

Today, Shadow emailed me back with this message:

I can get the OrCam for the special introductory price of only $2,500.  Ha, not exactly in my budget.  lol

How are you doing?

No anger, or even sadness.  Just acceptance that for her it is not possible.  Perhaps the price will go down, or she can budget for it for the future.  Right now it is a no, and she’s worried about me, not her.

That is the Shadow who wrote this post My Comment to the Post “Fundraising thoughts that is being linked somewhere on Facebook.  Linked by someone who has driven a lot of traffic to this blog recently.  Someone else linked to it on another unknown Facebook page a while back, and one reader from that Facebook link left this comment:  by zflowerz

“Wow, what an ignorant post.  And just to let you know, I have one international child and one domestic, and the domestic was only $5000 less than the international.  But I have to deal with so much more!  Birth mother’s are very challenging.  I can totally understand why someone goes international.  We just went exactly where God told us our children were.  And we could have saved all that money, that we didn’t fund raise, and had them biologically but that’s not what got wanted for us.  I don’t judge how, where or when other people get their children, it’s not my business.”

Shadow is  completely blind now, she started losing her sight in her early adulthood.  She lost a lot when she lost her sight, including being avid horseback rider, and her love of dressage and competing.  She doesn’t complain, or whine, about what she lost, not to mention that she lives in snake country out on a farm, and gardens, and snakes on the property are a common occurrence, can you imagine?  (Hmmm, I wonder if OrCam could warn her a snake was near with the face recognition software?)  

Shadow is brave and compassionate and will have your back every time.  She is slow to anger and quick to forgive, something I am hoping rubs off on me. 

If you are going to link to her post on Facebook have the common courtesy (aka manners) to leave a message and say which page.  You are free to disagree with Shadow, she will converse with you, but I just thought you needed to see just a glimpse of what makes Shadow – well Shadow…

I wrote this post because I am going to update Shadows post with a link to this post at the start of it. 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2013 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Who is Shadow?

  1. Don't We Look Alike?

    August 2, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    I think I’m too deficient to figure out how to link to Shadow’s post on FB. Now there’s a good cause for fundraising–the OrCam!

    Like

     
    • TAO

      August 2, 2013 at 6:49 pm

      You’re so sweet Luanne! We don’t mind the linking (which is just copy and paste of the address) and if it makes people think then great – but when you see the stats lit up on a two year old post, and know it is a facebook page and then get comments like that from a “good Christian woman” who has only read the one post, then it makes ME mad. Shadow is too gentle and shrugs it off…

      Shadow and I were talking about the costs of specialized equipment for disabilities – those most likely who would be challenged to find additional funds to make life just a little bit better…or safer and agree that would be a great fundraiser.

      Like

       
    • TAO

      August 2, 2013 at 6:53 pm

      Shadow also can’t go search facebook pages – unless she had hours to listed to the text to voice on her computer read all the posts on each page…another thing we take for granted – skimming…

      Like

       
      • Don't We Look Alike?

        August 2, 2013 at 8:00 pm

        Most of what I do on a daily basis–at least how I feel I spend my time both working and writing–I couldn’t do if I were Shadow. She sounds like such an admirable person with a lot of life skills, such as not allowing herself to be infected by bitterness.

        Like

         
  2. cb

    August 2, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    “Shadow and I were talking about the costs of specialized equipment for disabilities – those most likely who would be challenged to find additional funds to make life just a little bit better…or safer and agree that would be a great fundraiser.”

    What about crowdfunding – I for one would be happy to contribute 🙂

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
