RSS

Good for her: part two…

10 Mar

By TAO

Remember this post back in February?

Widow Owes Rejected Adopted Daughter Millions, Court Rules

Adopted in 1996 from China as a baby, the father passes away in 1997, in 2004 the widow found another couple who wanted to adopt her.

Go read the story…

Well apparently that wasn’t the full story, there was more that happened in between…

EXCLUSIVE: New York widow in $250 million estate battle gave up another child  from China

From the first article, at the time of the 1996 adoption of the infant daughter, the mother was also pregnant and had a son, and the father was diagnosed with cancer.  The father passed in 1997, leaving the mother with five biological children (one a newborn son), and one adopted baby daughter.

So it now appears (from the second article) she also initiated, and completed, adopting a son from China.

Finding it too hard to parent seven children, she gave him up and he was re-adopted, it is not clear but based on the statements in the article, it seems to have happened before she gave up her adopted daughter.  The article also states according to her new adoptive parents, the daughter is now an honors student at a different school (that makes me happy – but the rest just makes me sad – don’t you think seeing your new brother sent away might cause the adopted daughter a wee bit of anguish and fear?).

Yep, that didn’t make my morning to read about that on Reform Talk…especially as I have been in such a gentle mood lately.

P.s. – I have tried to be very careful to not mix up facts, but if I have, let me know and I will correct them.  Also note I used “adopted” purposely for clarity only.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2013 in Adoption, adoptive parents, biological child, Ethics

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Good for her: part two…

  1. kellie3

    March 10, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    I’m really stumped by this woman’s behavior. Why would you adopt a child and give them up? Then repeat the process? I understand being overwhelmed, but I have a hard time understanding not reaching out for help. Especially when it seems she could afford to do that. Very sad for the children.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      March 10, 2013 at 8:09 pm

      I too am stumped by why this happened – but I think the sequence is she and her husband adopted the daughter, the husband died, she initiated another adoption of a son, gave him away, then gave the daughter away.

      I’m also wondering who would have approved her second adoption…

      Like

       
  2. Don't We Look Alike?

    March 10, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    This makes me physically sick.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      March 10, 2013 at 8:10 pm

      As if the first story wasn’t bad enough – it just got worse.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
