RSS

04 Jan

Some who read this post above by Val (and I recommend you do), will be too young to understand what the reality was for women subjected to domestic violence. A handout giving the basics provides an overview including this tidbit.

Beating as cruel and inhumane treatment, becomes grounds for divorce in New York, but the plaintiff must establish that a sufficient number of beatings have taken place. (1966)

QBG_Tilted Tiara

I apologize for the length of this post. I hope you will read and consider passing it on. This is a personal story of Domestic Abuse. This is a personal appeal to anyone who reads this story to get active and demand justice for all members of society who are victims of Domestic Abuse. Demand Congress pass VAWA without changes to the current incarnation. Thanks

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

In 1972, I was 15; I was first a ward of the state then a runaway, a street child then finally a ‘wife’. In 1972, I was the victim of domestic abuse that would continue for three years. Abuse both physical and emotional, that would strip me of my pride and humanity that would leave scars I bear on my body and soul and that would very nearly kill me.

In 1972, there were no laws to prevent a man from beating his wife…

View original post 1,290 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “

  1. Valentine Logar

    January 6, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Thank you Tao

    Like

     
    • TAO

      January 6, 2013 at 2:42 pm

      Anytime my friend. I wish you had never experienced that but am glad you are standing up and trying to help protect others in the future. It really was the least I could do…

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
