RSS

Isn’t Life Interesting Part 2

10 Nov

By Shadow

Day 10 and the story, “Isn’t Life Interesting”, continues with part 2.

I have heard adoption reunion referred to as a roller coaster ride many, many times. Having experienced it myself, I can certainly relate. Though I have never adopted a child, I would imagine, adopting a child could be described as the same. In my own reunions with my first parents, I can attest to the fact that there were many ups, downs, sharp curves, disorienting loops, unbelievably high peaks, and terrifying drops that, at times, never seemed to end. It bothers me when adoption, and reunion, are referred to as a roller coaster ride. I don’t believe it really does them justice. You see, when you get on a roller coaster, you do it in the name of fun. It is exciting, and a thrill. You know in just a few seconds, it will come rolling to a stop, the ride will be over, and you will be fine. Now, I will get on with the story.

The roller coaster had reached the top of the big drop that no one expects is coming. Another phone call came for my cousins. The birth mother had changed her mind. Although, in a sense, I was happy that this precious little girl would not be separated from her mother, it broke my heart to see how completely devastated my cousins were. It was also becoming apparent that my reunion with my Bdad wasn’t going to be a fairytale. The roller coaster had headed down for us as well. All any of us could do was hang on as tight as possible, scream, and hope we could build up enough speed to make it back to the top again.

As is the case with most roller coasters, there is usually always a sharp turn just after the big drop. So it was for my cousins. Another phone call. There was another child. A little more cautious this time, they were off again to meet their new baby. My cousin’s wife had kept a picture of the first child in a frame on the nightstand by her bed. They walked into the room, where their new baby was waiting to meet them, and as it turned out, it was the same precious little girl they had met the first time. Sometimes things are just meant to be?

The adoption went through this time. Because of unfortunate circumstances surrounding this precious child, circumstances she had no say in, or choice, she was removed from her family of origin, and is now part of a family, who will shower her with love and affection. Once again, the joy, the excitement, the love was all so very contagious. The roller coaster had leveled off for my cousins.

Even though I know the possible issues and emotions that their new daughter may face in the future, this was most definitely a good thing for everyone. I was truly happy for this new family, and truly heartbroken at the losses they have all suffered as well. The pure joy and happiness felt by the new adoptive parents touched my heart, and I wondered about my adoptive parent’s feelings when they adopted me. Was that how they felt?”

As I read this once again, I smiled as I came to the phrase “some things are just meant to be”. Here I sit 5 years after writing that phrase, knowing it isn’t something I would say now. The joy of the creation of this new family was contagious, just as, I suppose, the joy D, and I felt at finding each other was probably contagious too. I understand the analogy of a roller coaster ride in regards to adoption and reunion. It isn’t easy putting such things into words. If given a choice, I think I would prefer to put it another way, and in the words of a Robert Earl Keen song, “the road goes on forever, and the party never ends.”

There’s more to come. Stay tuned for Isn’t Life Interesting Part 3. The fun is just beginning.

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Isn’t Life Interesting Part 2

  1. andy

    November 10, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    I look forward to reading part 3.

    Like

     
    • cb

      November 11, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      Me too 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Marylee

    November 11, 2012 at 1:54 am

    me too!

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
