RSS

Following the links…

21 Oct

By TAO

Whenever I see advertisements about movies related to adoption – I follow the links to find out where they lead.

Rescued: The Heart of Adoption And Caring For Orphans

And the description upset me greatly, and yes, I am trying to be diplomatic here.

I saw another website at the bottom of the page so I followed it.

Rescued Adoption Fund

And I looked around that website and clicked on the resources link.

Resources – surprise, surprise…

And you know, just once I want to be pleasantly surprised and see them not just focusing on the orphan aspect of James 1:27, but rather, focusing on caring in tandem the widows and the orphans.  We all know that quite likely in the statistics they quote, some (many) of those orphans – are also the children of the very widows they are also called to serve.

You know like the famous parable in the Bible about Elijah and the Widow Zarephath in 1 Kings 17…

The story of Elijah hiding out by the river, and when it ran dry he was told to seek out the Widow Zarephath.  Who when he asked for a drink and a piece of bread – told him she only had enough to feed herself and her son one more meal.  And how Elijah told her not to fear that she would have plenty until the end of the famine, if she shared.  And it was so.  And then later, when her son became ill – Elijah took her son and pleaded with God and her son was healed.  Then Elijah returned her son back to the Widow Zarephath, and she told him she knew he spoke the truth.

Where is that ministry?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “Following the links…

  1. Snarkurchin

    October 21, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    So enraging. So sad. So disheartening. )-:

    Like

     
  2. Anne

    October 22, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Omg, that is disgusting. And by the way, are they saying that children adopted into same-sex homes need “saving” too?

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 22, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      Hi Anne – I won’t watch the movie so unsure if they are saying that, or saying that adoption into same sex homes is bad, and we need to adopt all the little ones so none need to go into a same sex home…one of the reasons I was upset – really? because they are same sex homes?. It made me mad. As if they were saying Christians you need to adopt – not because you want to grow your family – but to keep those “other” people from adopting – that’s how it came across to me. Of all the asinine reasons to adopt…then through in the tag line This is War…

      I did manage to force myself to watch the trailer and they are also speaking about mothers who aren’t married – like their kids are orphans too that need adopting – which of course is what my adoption era was all about.

      Like

       
      • Valentine Logar

        October 23, 2012 at 10:30 am

        That is exactly what they are saying, that ‘Christians’ need to adopt to save all those children.

        Like

         
        • TAO

          October 23, 2012 at 12:44 pm

          Valentine – did you take it that they wanted to undo the adoptions into same sex homes, or prevent any more…both takes are obviously bad – but the former is just evil if they also want to disrupt a child from a perfectly fine family just to suit their relgious objective. KWIM?

          I don’t think I explained myself well enough in separating those two distinctions, and I wanted to because there have been some really wrong-headed comments about kids in same sex homes.

          I think I am still mangling it and obviously need more coffee. 😉

          Like

           
          • Valentine Logar

            October 23, 2012 at 2:07 pm

            The way I took it is the following:

            1. They consider orphans children without fathers, meaning children with only a mother as a parent. This would mean a child born to a single mother, a child left after the death of a father or possibly even a child deserted by a father.

            2. They would willingly and aggressively undo adoptions to same sex parents.

            3. They want to prevent future adoptions to same sex parents.

            Like

             
            • TAO

              October 23, 2012 at 2:12 pm

              So basically back to our era…but even worse…because widow’s don’t deserve to raise their children either.

              Cannot believe anyone in their right mind could even begin to consider disrupting a child from a perfectly fine home. Apparently attachment, abandonment, self-esteem, identity, feelings, mean absolutely nothing over religion. Makes me sick to my stomach.

              Thanks – you defined it much better than I.

              Like

               
  3. shadowtheadoptee

    October 22, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    Just one more episode in “As My Stomach Turns: Adoption the “Real” Story”.
    Oh, holy crap! Adoption isn’t “charity”. It is “war”. Really? Seriously? Where do they come up with this crap? Uhm and now that we are at “war” send us your money, because we need to be charitable to all those poor, poor “orphans? Whatever happened to judge not?

    Ah, yes, the gift of adoption: a gift that always comes with a price tag. It cost everyone but the agencies. God bless them. What would a poor little bastard like me have done without them? This is war alright, and I have a few war stories for them.
    Signed Shadow the angry adoptee, because that kind of self-righteous manipulation pisses me off.

    Like

     
  4. Valentine Logar

    October 23, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Unbelievable, ‘fatherless’ children? Children in Gay households? These children need to be saved by “Christians”.

    Can I just say … PISS OFF.

    Like

     
  5. shadowtheadoptee

    October 23, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    In one of the clips I listened to, a woman remarked, “We want to collect those little lost ones.” Really? “Collect” the little lost ones? So, children are collectibles now? I suppose that explains the “high cost” of adopting? Collectibles are expensive. No wonder they are asking for donations.

    Another man remarked that we need to do more than just help the orphans, “We need to pray for those orphans that God will change them and use them in a tremendous way.” Change them? Are they not just innocent children? As one of the men stated in the clip, “God did not say natural born children were a blessing. God said children were a blessing.” Did I miss something? Which is it? Are these orphans “little lost ones” that need God to “change” them, or are they “blessings”?

    The clincher for me is this remark from one of the men, “I think the True People of God, hear the word, and do it.” I think that I will immediately write my check and federal express it to them. Because, according to this guy, if I don’t, I’m obviously not a “true person of God”.

    Frankly, I think the ones we need to be on our knees praying for God to change are the people, who made this movie.

    Once again, signed, Shadow the “angry” adoptee, because it pisses me off to see this kind of self-righteous, arrogant, manipulation all in the name of supposed, compassionate, Christianity.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 23, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      Shadow – it makes no sense. Why the need to change them? I think they have done a very poor job of trying to use all those “buzz” words. The whole thing bothers me on so many levels…

      …and for anyone asking if kids should be left in orphanages – no they shouldn’t – provided they are actually abandoned true orphans without family to go to – they may benefit from adoption – provided it follows Hague protocals. Yet we must always keep in mind that some cultures do rely on orphanages to care for kids during times of distress, and visit when possible, and bring their children home again – if that works for them who are we to say otherwise?

      Like

       
      • shadowtheadoptee

        October 23, 2012 at 4:19 pm

        I Agree, AO.

        Like

         

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
