RSS

“So Close, So Far Away” – story and video on Al Jazeera

12 Oct

Link to full article and video here

Al Jazeera’s New York correspondent Cath Turner is also an adoptee from Vietnam’s “Operation Babylift”.

The video found in the story is about her going back to Vietnam and is riveting and a must see.  Snippets from the printed article below.

“When I pitched my story for the Al Jazeera Correspondent series, it was from a reporter’s point of view. I wanted to draw attention to the short and long-term effects of adoption; of what happens when a child is moved to a foreign country and placed with a family that looks completely different.

I wanted to talk about identity, belonging, racism and multiculturalism.”

[…]

Ever since I found my birth mother in 2003, I have been constantly juggling two families.

Most people assume my Vietnamese family was the perfect end to a fairytale – and in many ways it has been. I have been able to answer many questions that have plagued me my whole life – about my birth father, my DNA, my heritage.

But it has also come with some difficulties.

I grew up with my Australian family and identify most strongly with them. But I now have a Vietnamese family who wants to connect with me and would love nothing more than for me to move back to Ho Chi Minh City and start a family.

I always try to make sure no one in either family feels neglected, abandoned or unloved. And I know I am very lucky to have two families who accept, respect and genuinely like each other.

Note you can, if you choose, just listen to the video as it is powerful even without watching – but you will miss out on the written translations but it makes sense even without them.

Please go read the short article and watch (or just listen) to the video.  You will not regret the time, and you will learn about the Vietnam “Operation BabyLift”…Trust me – it is worth it…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2012 in Adoption, adoptive parents, biological child, Ethics

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to ““So Close, So Far Away” – story and video on Al Jazeera

  1. shadowtheadoptee

    October 12, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    Yes, it was well worth watching, and very well done. wow!

    Like

     
  2. TAO

    October 12, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Hey Shadow – I think it is right up there with the best of them. I hope everyone watches it.

    Like

     
  3. Tara S.

    October 13, 2012 at 6:43 am

    Thanks for posting the link. I went from just reading the snippets to being drawn in to watching the entire video. Very well done!

    Like

     
  4. cb

    October 13, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Thanks for the link – it was very moving.

    Like

     
  5. Dannie

    October 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    This comment is just random….we are freezing up here in Canada lol. All the more honeymoon weather to snuggle with. After fantasy land I am going to read up on the blogs 🙂

    Like

     
    • TAO

      October 14, 2012 at 9:25 pm

      Awe Dannie – congrats on the wedding hope everything went perfect – the weather was beautiful until mid-week…sigh…and the week before was in the 70’s (F)… oh well as you say you can snuggle. Let me know where you went when you get home.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
