RSS

What I have been up to…

14 Sep

For the past week – I have spent most of my spare time either on ancestry or politics – two of my favorite subjects.  I spent most of that time on ancestry because…

I found my paternal family in the 1940 Census!

I had just about given up hope with both the first and last name being incredibly common names but I am sure I have the right family.  All the details I had been told match.  Everything fits.  I am now back to 1810, but have hit a road block.  I will find the next generation back, because, I think that generation is perhaps the generation that immigrated from their home country.

I now know 75% of my nationalities – before last week I only knew 50%!

It’s been a good week…Now I know that both sides were good, hardworking, decent, honest people.  People to be proud of.

I found some quotes that seemed right for this post…

Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.” ― Aldous Huxley, Complete Essays 2, 1926-29

Our ignorance can be divided into problems and mysteries. When we face a problem, we may not know its solution, but we have insight, increasing knowledge, and an inkling of what we are looking for. When we face a mystery, however, we can only stare in wonder and bewilderment, not knowing what an explanation would even look like.” ― Noam Chomsky

Quotes above from goodreads.com

What was your week like?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2012 in Adoption, adoptive parents, biological child

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “What I have been up to…

  1. Heather

    September 15, 2012 at 4:52 am

    Very cool. Congratulations.

    Like

     
  2. Fran Whelan

    September 15, 2012 at 9:50 am

    I can imagine how much that means to you. I am also searching my first families tree, and found that the man I believe is my Father was also illigitimate – there is no name for his Father on the birth certificate. I’m in contact with other’s also following this family, and it seems to be quite common in this family, back then (1800’s) the children were mostly reared as their Grandparents children (which is proving problematical if you rely on census returns).

    Like

     
    • TAO

      September 16, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      Hi Fran, I did find one census where the head of household was the grandparent – haven’t figured out why yet – could be parents moving – but the US census lists relationship to head of household so makes it easy to identify. The road block I am at is that each state is where you find the birth certificates/records – some were better than others. I may have to look to a local genealogical society where my 1810 relative was born to see if they have records.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
