RSS

Totally off topic: Mama duck and her ducklings…

03 May

Ducks bring a smile to my face every single time.  We always had ducks and sometimes we even had ducklings in a pen inside with a lamp above them to keep them warm, until they were old enough to join the other ducks.

I love ducksWatching them makes me happy.

Last night the video available in the link below made the news.  Crossing a four-lane highway (freeway) in Toronto rush-hour traffic, was the route mama duck took.  It was heart-stopping to watch, and I don’t think I took a breath the entire video.

Ducks Cross Highway 407

A mother and at least eight ducklings took a perilous trip across Highway 407 Wednesday morning, crossing four lanes as traffic whizzed by…..

As cars and trucks sped by, turbulent air sent some of the transponder-free ducklings flying in various directions, but each time they managed to quickly regroup — and all apparently made it across safely.

Take the time to watch the video…it is amazing.

Edit: Link from Sunday K for those in the US to watch the video here.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

8 responses to “Totally off topic: Mama duck and her ducklings…

  1. Sunday

    May 3, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    May 3, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Curious if you can read the story and watch the video as I never know what can be viewed from US (and other countries) to Canadian sites.

    Like

     
  3. Sunday

    May 3, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    I can read the story but not view the video from the link…I had to Google “mother duck 407” to get a link I could use.

    Like

     
  4. The adopted ones

    May 3, 2012 at 5:09 pm

     
  5. cb

    May 4, 2012 at 5:30 am

    I saw that parakeet article – that was cute; sensible thinking on behalf of his owner!

    Ducks put a smile on my face the other day when I went to get a haircut. I decided to take a walk on a footpath opposite the railway station/bus terminal of a town near where I live which is beside quite a busy road. Not many people use that particular footpath because an overhead bridge bypasses the need most of the time. Anyway, I was walking along the footpath on the way to get the bus and I was joined by a mother duck and her 5 ducklings and we strolled down the footpath together for about 100m. I’m glad she didn’t decide to cross the busy road!

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
