RSS

Apparently it is Women’s History Month…

01 Mar

On one hand I find it sad that such a month even needs to exist, on the other hand looking at what is going on today in politics – I guess it is still needed and most likely will always be needed. 

So I thought I would do posts about women this month, and who better to start off with than Barbara Bisantz Raymond.

Without Barbara Bisantz Raymond we would not have learned about the horrendous actions of Georgia Tann.  If you have not read the book you must do so this year.  It’s a hard read, but a necessary read.

The Baby Thief – The Untold Story of Georgia Tann, the Baby Seller Who Corrupted Adoption by Barbara Bisantz Raymond

I found an interview of Barbara Bisantz Raymond on The Diane Rehm Show in 2007 that is well worth the time to listen to – it’s quite long so grab a coffee – it also includes a segment by one of Georgia Tann’s adoptees.  Just click on the “Listen Button”.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2012 in Adoption, Ethics

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “Apparently it is Women’s History Month…

  1. nnkato

    March 2, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Women’s History month? I thought we got just one day!
    Thank you for posting this. This is the first I’ve heard of “the Baby Thief”, and although it turns my stomach, I appreciate learning about it.

    Like

     
    • nnkato

      March 2, 2012 at 7:08 pm

      I’m going to reblog this as well. If you’d rather I didn’t, just let me know and I’ll take it down.

      Like

       
  2. nnkato

    March 2, 2012 at 7:09 pm

    Reblogged this on the retarded owl and commented:
    With thanks to The adopted ones blog.

    Like

     
  3. The adopted ones

    March 2, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    Thanks nnkato – you are always welcome to reblog.

    I hope you do read the book because it will explain so much more about why adoptions happen / happened the way they did.

    Like

     
    • nnkato

      March 2, 2012 at 8:12 pm

      do you know of any blogs/information about older adoptees? say, 9 years old? perhaps been in a foster home? and an adoption home that didn’t work? taken away from parents at age 3-forcibly? wait-that’s MY blog! seriously-do you know of any others similar in content? I just LOVE your blog and am so grateful to have found it!

      Like

       
      • The adopted ones

        March 2, 2012 at 10:26 pm

        I don’t have many links for foster-adopt but Sunday would be a good one to go to the blog link for her blog address. The Declassified Adoptee also has a great list of all types of blogs so you could check her out (also a great writer by the way).

        Like

         
  4. Beth

    March 4, 2012 at 7:52 am

    I hope one day every month will be American History or even better, World History month. Do they do the months in Canada or other countries like this? I’m clueless and ashamed!

    Like

     
    • The adopted ones

      March 4, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      Yes, Canada’s is in October. I can kind of see it in Canada as we aren’t very old in reality. There is a group of 5 women who made history that I am trying to learn about for a post – whether it will get done or not is another story.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
