RSS

70 days to go…

22 Jan

The 1940 US Census will be released April 2, 2012 – just 70 more days to wait – kind of like waiting for Christmas when you were a kid, counting down the days. 

Once it is released for the first time in over 5 decades, I will be able to find out the names of my paternal grandparents, whether they were alive when I was born, when they died, what they did and where they lived.  Whether I had aunts and uncles and who they were too.  Perhaps even a picture or two if I am lucky. 

I can start researching and documenting the paths that side of my family travelled.  Who my great grandparents and great-great grandparents were.  What they all did, where they lived, what land they originally came from, and when.  What life was like in each era and place.  Anything that will paint me a picture of who and what they were like, and what life was like for them. 

I will finally know the other 50% of my ancestry, heritage, nationality, story.  I can’t wait…have already waited far too long.

Anyone else waiting for the 1940 US Census?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2012 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “70 days to go…

  1. Jenn

    January 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    I’m waiting too! I can’t wait 🙂

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    January 22, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    Jenn – glad to know someone else is waiting too. I am not clear when sites like ancestry will have them available but I will sure be searching that day with my fingers crossed.

    Like

     
  3. Fran Whelan

    January 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    I can imagine how excited you are by this prospect. I am lucky, as I did meet my maternal grandparents, and they gave me enough information for me to find my birth Father’s details (birth & death – he died just a few years after I was born in his early 20s) So I have been able to trace my family back, waaaaay back 🙂 Unsurprisingly for the UK, I’ve got mostly Agricultural labourers in my history. With the surname I had at birth, I expected to come from Welsh stock, but instead my family on my Mother’s side came from Kent – the ‘garden’ of England – the male line seem to be builders in the more recent past (1800 on)
    I was surprised by the things that do seem to be passed down in the genes – like my love of horses

    Like

     
  4. Sarah

    January 24, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    Adopted,
    I thought you knew some info off of your records that were closed then opened later? Were you not able to find info from that about your grandparents?

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
