RSS

What were they thinking…

01 Jan

Okay so I am not a reader if tabloids or entertainment news as I really have better things to do than that – you know like enjoy living my own life instead of reading gossip magazines.  I did a google search for adoption and came upon this.  Holy Cow Really?  You think this is okay?  What were people thinking.  She’s 13 for goodness sake.  She is only 13 years old and her life story is out there publicly, in print forever.  Even if she thought it was a good thing – hello – she is 13…

I’m not putting the headline, nor any other words describing the story or the person the story is about other than you can find it here.  I don’t want a bunch of hits on this blog by people who only came here because of that search.  As to why someone else didn’t talk about it as they question in the story – two words: Privacy and Ethics – heard of them?

Perhaps this is old news to many – I am shocked.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2012 in Adoption, adoptive parents, Ethics

 

Tags:

4 responses to “What were they thinking…

  1. Amanda

    January 2, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Shame on any adult whose had a part in broadcasting this girl’s story in this way. It’s generally not OK to out an abuse victim and tell everyone their story on their behalf–that would be seen as a huge violation of someone’s privacy. Yet when it is a minor adoptee, it seems OK. Adoptees are just here to entertain the rest of the world with our ‘interesting’ personal lives, you know, the wretched waifs that we are. *rolls eyes*

    Like

     
    • b.

      January 2, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      Agreed –
      (B., adoptive mother)

      Like

       
  2. Linda

    January 2, 2012 at 3:56 am

    It made me sick as well. But I wasn’t really too shocked by it. There are plenty of ap’s in adoptoblogland who post these things…even putting their child’s picture for everyone to see. It’s pure and simple adopter narcissism. I don’t blame the media, I blame the adoptive parents.

    Like

     
  3. The adopted ones

    January 2, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    Amanda – I questioned if I should link to it, and tried to do it without making it worse by not talking about it – yet I still worried. I think far too many view this as a Positive Adoption Story and that just makes me mad. The desire to make Adoption the be all end all greatest gift ever – you don’t do that on the backs of the adoptees.

    Linda – A conversation needs to start in blogland about what is appropriate and what isn’t appropriate – somethings don’t matter in my opinion, and won’t be cringe worthy when the adoptee is 40…other choices made are horrific and yes – blame falls solely on the AP – ahem they are supposed to be the ADULT in the room.

    In this situtation that child still has to go through high school – the worst time ever to have your private life aired for all to see. I cannot imagine the fall-out that could take place.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
