RSS

Perspectives and stories…

11 Nov

I had a different idea for a post today, but as is my norm I started reading an article that changed my mind and direction, that led me to another article with a different concept that I needed to explore, and that led me to yet something completely different.  Apparently, I never learned the fine art of concentration, I need to explore all sides and see what greater minds than I have come up with, regardless if the topic changed. 

Having said all of that I keep coming back to Chimamanda Adichie: The danger of a single story that I talked about last November, and wanting to post it again. 

Two TED talks – different but same.  Hope you enjoy and get as much from both as I have.  The first is under 5 minutes and the second is close to 20 minutes, but you can simply listen to her talk if you have other things to-do.

Raghava KK: Shake up your story

Chimamanda Adichie: The danger of a single story

In my post last November on this talk, I took the time to transcribe some parts and talked about my story, or indeed the lack thereof and how it impacted me.  I reread that post the other day and realized that what I did not talk about, was how much it impacted me in my teen years while I was trying unsuccessfully to incorporate what I knew of nature side – with what I knew of my nurture side.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2011 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Perspectives and stories…

  1. Don't We Look Alike?

    April 22, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    Still watching the videos. Thanks for sending me here!

    Like

     
  2. Don't We Look Alike?

    April 22, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    Darn, posting that threw me out of it! heh

    Like

     
  3. Don't We Look Alike?

    April 22, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    I loved that video. I watched both. First one was great. Second was amazing. I loved her voice, too.

    Like

     
    • TAO

      April 22, 2013 at 10:24 pm

      Wow my comment vanished. I love that video and listen to it on a regular basis – it calls to me. I could have given you a link but it kind of felt like self-promotion on your blog and I didn’t want to do that and figured you knew the blog well enough to find the search widget.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
