RSS

Still thinking about labels…

11 Oct

Glass half full or Glass half empty…

If I had to describe myself – again I am neither or parts of both.

From the Glass half full side which seems to mean: optimistic, resilient, strong

I always know I will get through anything and continue on, and have proven that time after time. Losses and crises that I would never divulge here.

From the Glass half empty side which seems to mean: pessimistic, fragile, weak

I am always looking for what will go wrong. I mull on just about everything and carefully weigh the risks and benefits of each situation. I research everything, I must control as many variables as I possibly can.  I love reading contracts and seeing where the potential issues may arise – a skill utilized at my old job.

I think I am normal – and once again – labels that really are only meant to divide, dismiss, and elevate one over the other.

Do you see yourself as one over the other or parts of both?

Can’t we just allow people to just be themselves without applying a label?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Still thinking about labels…

  1. Jenn

    October 11, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Depends on the day… Some days I’m glass half full, some days I’m glass half empty.

    There are times in my life when I’m convinced I’m half full. Other times I can’t ever imagine thinking that. Labels labels labels…

    Like

     
  2. cb

    October 12, 2011 at 12:09 am

    Well, a glass is half full and half empty so why can’t we be both at the same time or whichever we feel is appropriate at the time lol.

    Like

     
  3. Melynda

    October 13, 2011 at 5:04 pm

    Well, technically the glass is half full of water *and* half full of air and therefore completely full of *something* and we need *both* of them to live so it is just a silly question, at least according to my know-it-all seven year old. As I have thought about, he actually hit it out of the ballpark. It would make sense that a balance between optimism and pessimism would be good for survival, too.

    (I tend to be a half-full of water kind of girl myself.)

    Like

     
    • Melynda

      October 13, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      Though sometimes I honestly would prefer it be completely full of something stronger.

      Like

       
  4. shadowtheadoptee

    October 13, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Both, leaning toward half full. Too much of one or the other and a person becomes annoying. kwim?

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
