RSS

I had no idea there was a Vegetarian Awareness Month

02 Oct

As I sit here having my lunch of avacodo on wheat with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese, I learned an entire month is dedicated Vegetarian Awareness.  Who knew?  Mind you this is something I maybe should have been aware of seeing as how I am a lacto-ovo vegetarian.  

I was raised lacto-ovo vegetarian (eggs and dairy is fine) primarily as a health choice.  Dad raised just about everything we ate and drank year round, with mom preserving it for the winter.  Home made multi-grain bread was all we ever knew, even the cinnamon buns mom sometimes made as a treat were made from multi-grain bread dough, with the bare minimum butter and brown sugar but lots of raisins. 

For a few years as a young adult I ate meat – sort of – because I could, but pretty soon I couldn’t stomach it, primarily because I could not stand the thought of an animal dying.  Trying to look back to when I last ate meat and it has to be over a couple of decades now.  I figure I have been vegetarian somewhere around 90% of my entire life.

I think this is one of the few things my fellow blogger and I are not alike on.  That’s okay, neither is my man.  It’s a personal choice.  I could never convert to vegan – just would not work for me.  Nor could I give up my dairy products – I have milk in my coffee and on my cereal and I think it would be a bitch to bake without eggs and cheese – could not live without it.

I do think more and more people are eating more vegetarian meals.  I like it that restaurants are finally starting to have items on the menu I can eat too.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

14 responses to “I had no idea there was a Vegetarian Awareness Month

  1. veggiemom

    October 2, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I love this. I’ve been lacto-ovo for 20 years and am raising Blueberry that way too (although she recently had to give up dairy for lactose intolerance). I wish I could have made Violet a vegetarian but I couldn’t take away the one thing she did like to eat when she came to the US (chicken) but we eat only veggie at home. I had no idea there was a vegetarian awareness month. That is so cool (and also that maybe Blueberry will stay/return to vegetanarianism someday if she ever chooses to eat meat when she’s old enough to make that choice.)

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    October 2, 2011 at 11:53 pm

    I think my venture into eating “some” meats was because I wasn’t living at home but I never really embraced eating it all that much. It does get tedious to have two different proteins but sometimes the man will eat vegie meat instead – sometimes…

    Like

     
  3. Dannie

    October 3, 2011 at 12:16 am

    It’s really easy to be ovo-lacto vegetarian where I live. It’s CA….home of the vegetarian and vegan for variety of reasons. When I went to college in the state of TX it was different and if I asked anything without meat you shoulda seen the looks I received. I then learned that if there was nothing veggetarian I’d ask for a chicken based plate. I cook vegetarian at home and am raising my daughter that way too……sometimes I’ll eat a chicken plate if I’m out with co-workers but not usually. If I were to ever marry and the guy ate meat that’s his deal. He can fix what he’d like to eat in conjunction….I have no problem with that. I also didn’t know about the vegetarian awareness month

    Like

     
  4. Raven

    October 3, 2011 at 12:27 am

    I’m not a vegetarian…yet…but I’m seriously contemplating becoming one. The past few years, I’ve incorporated so many fruits and vegetables into my diet, and I’ve gotten out of the habit of eating meat. For some odd reason, it bothers me some days when meat is served. I sit and look at it, thinking about how I’m eating another animal…and it grosses me out.

    If I do go the vegetarian route, I plan to do the ovo-lacto option…because there is absolutely no way I can ever give up dairy products, especially cheese.

    Like

     
    • Dannie

      October 3, 2011 at 1:33 am

      It’s official you can eat at my house. I love me some cheese. 🙂 Better come out, your granddaughter is getting big and mischievous.

      Like

       
  5. cb

    October 3, 2011 at 12:52 am

    I do love vegetables but have to admit that I do like eating meat though mostly I eat chicken if I am going to have meat. I never eat meat without vegetables though.

    I do think before anyone goes the vegetarian route, they do need to see a doctor, dietician or nutritionist first just to make sure they are doing it the right way. Vegans especially have to worry about their B12 (which reminds me that I need to get an injection soon – I’m B12 deficient even though I’m not vegetarian)

    Like

     
  6. Sarah

    October 3, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Have you guys head of Smiling Moose Deli? It’s a chain and they have an awesome vegetarian sandwich called the Hippy Chick… avocado, red pepper hummus, red peppers, cucumber, tomato, onion, and lettuce on whole wheat bread. I’m a total meat lover (no offense to previous posters!) but this sandwich is by far my favorite food (for now anyways lol). I even bought ingredients to make it myself at home…total yum.

    Like

     
    • The adopted ones

      October 3, 2011 at 10:00 pm

      Sarah – I have nothing against meat eaters – its a personal choice. We don’t have that chain here and I have never heard of red pepper hummus but it sounds really good. I will have to look for a recipe. A good combination makes amazing taste sensations and avocado is one of my favs. Vegetarian cooking doesn’t have to be just a plate of veggies – it can be really good but I like adding most types of cheese (except soya cheese…). Strangely enough I am strongly dislike many veggies…

      How are the little ones?

      Like

       
  7. shannon2818

    October 4, 2011 at 1:41 am

    I’m a long-time vegetarian, but my kids and husband are omnivores. I do most of the cooking, so we eat vegetarian most of the time. My husband and son will eat just about anything, so they don’t mind. I hear a lot of complaining from my daughter though!

    Like

     
  8. Sarah

    October 4, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Little ones are doing good 🙂 DS is sleeping more at night so I’m happy. DD is a little rough with the baby, so we have to watch her. Not mean…just likes to squeeze a little too much lol. I found some red pepper hummus at Wal-Mart here…you could try the deli section at your grocery store.

    Like

     
  9. cb

    October 4, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I checked my supermarket and couldn’t find red pepper hummus. However, a few weeks ago I did buy an antipasto mix from the supermarket to put on a sandwich (along with some avocado and roast beef) and that did add a lot of flavour to the sandwich. After reading this, I went to buy some more yesterday and think I might buy some hummus to add to it as well. The mix I bought seems to be a combination of sun dried tomatoes and grilled yellow pepper, eggplant and olives though I didn’t want too many olives.

    Like

     
  10. shadowtheadoptee

    October 6, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    Dannie, in TX “Beef, it’s what’s for diner

    Like

     
    • Sarah

      October 7, 2011 at 1:34 am

      Exactly Shadow! I only make it back to the homeland once or twice a year, but you bet there’s no meal without meat 🙂

      Like

       
  11. Barbaloot

    July 12, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    A whole month – who knew?? LOL. I don’t feel bad about not being vegan because ya know, I have to earn a living so why can’t cows and chickens contribute something too? I think they, like people, should be treated with kindness and respect at work, but I think if they are, they probably don’t mind about the milk and eggs. One random side benefit to making Ethiopian culture part of my life every day – and I don’t mean to trivialize it – awesome, healthy vegetarian food. So there we are – American mom loving mesr wat (lentil stew) while my Ethiopian son yearns for hamburgers.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
