RSS

I had no idea she was an adoptee…

25 Sep

I learned from a tweet from fauxclaud about Alison Larkin’s DNA song, and then I went to her website and read what Alison wrote about being adopted and once again, her story as it evolves, mirrors many of our stories.  It starts just like many of our stories start…

Introduction from Alison
I had a happy, stable upbringing with my adoptive parents and felt far removed from the people I occasionally heard about who had “adoption issues.” They were probably people who were unlucky in the adoptive parent department, or who were abused as kids or something. Not people fortunate enough to come from wonderful families like mine.

Then, when I was in my twenties, I decided to find my birth mother. And my world turned upside down. As a result of my decision to search, I was catapulted out of the ‘me’ I knew, and forced to deal with intense and complex emotions that I was ill equipped to absorb or understand.

go read the entire post you will see what I mean…

Her entire site is fascinating and now I will have to read her novel “The English American”.  

I like her DNA song you can view it on her youtube site:

http://youtu.be/EQrycnBMD_M

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2011 in Adoption

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “I had no idea she was an adoptee…

  1. shadowtheadoptee

    September 26, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    etc. I barely keep up with myself most of the time, as you know. lol I think I want to read her book too.

    Oh, my, her story and mine, like you said, mirrors. I liked her comment about the one therapist/professional she had gone to for help in dealing, told her to “go home, and talk to your inner child”. lol It seems to me, it’s the inner child that, hmmm, how to put this, wants what it wants, doesn’t understand, is the one in pain, and needs comforting not disussion from the adult you, that doesn’t understand either? Not the best wording fro what I’m trying to say, but I get why she thought being told that funny.

    Her song fits us perfectly.

    Like

     
  2. shadowtheadoptee

    September 26, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I don’t know what happened to the first part of my comment…not important.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
