RSS

Ways animals can manipulate you…

19 Jul

I love the birds and squirrels that roam my backyard.  Their antics keep me laughing as I stand in my kitchen looking out the window, washing dishes, cooking, grabbing another coffee, or just having fun standing there watching them.  They will scurry to grab a nut and jump back up on the roof, or run down the stairs, or be brave and just sit and eat until they are full.  BTW: I am not very fond of the skunks despite being beautiful…

But the birds and squirrels mean business if I don’t cater to them by feeding them seeds and nuts.  That’s when they manipulate you…

This morning I went out to check the flowers on my deck – and there are some amazing stems standing tall, perfectly healthy, minus the flowers that just started blooming.  Sitting on the railing are bits and pieces of the decimated flower heads.

My crime – I forgot to fill the feeder and put out both shelled and un-shelled peanuts.

Pictures aren’t very good as these guys move fast and my camera is one of the first digitals but they make me smile all the same. 

If you have critters in your yard and a deck railing consider looking for one the bird baths that attach to the railing – you can see it in the first picture – best invention ever – its easy to fill – easy to keep clean and perfect to get a ‘birds eye’ view of whether they drink from it or play in it. 

Oh and by the way – the last picture – I love gnomes and have several, they remind me of my grandma’s backyard…

Squirrel

Peanuts...peanuts...

 
 
 
 
Mountain Chickadee

You want me to shell them?

   
Mountain Chickadee

Now these are peanuts!

 
 
 
Content just to sit and munch until the dogs come out that is...

Great conversation with the gnome and good to stand on too to reach the feeder!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Ways animals can manipulate you…

  1. Dannie

    July 19, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    LOL…..that reminds me of a hummingbird that had an “argument” or it was more like he told my dad off because my dad had not yet filled up the hummingbird feeder. Animals are so adorable 🙂

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    July 19, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    They are indeed adorable so when are you getting one for your little one? Wouldn’t grandma pet sit during the day?

    One of the baby chickadees who is just out of the nest tried to fly away with a whole peanut – it was a big as she was…

    Chickadees used to fly over and sit on dads shoulders when he was working in the garden…now that would have been a picture.

    Like

     
  3. Dannie

    July 19, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    We did “have” one when little one came home, and Grandma pet sat for a bit since chihuahua’s aren’t the best with children or noise…..now they love each other, however, my mom asked me if she could keep my dog because their dog has some anxiety and I swear mental health issues and my chihuahua has helped him calm down….so since we are there practically every week and little one still claims “my” dog as hers, I said ok. There will be a time where we will get a bigger dog for security purposes, but I’d like little one to be a bit older as bigger dogs need exercise and she’ll be able to walk more or at least tolerate longer walking distances even if she is in a stroller. LOL

    Like

     
  4. Raven

    July 20, 2011 at 5:46 am

    I have four indoor cats….talk about manipulation — normal course of a day around my home. I have a semi-feral cat colony that lives on my porches and in my shed and barn. I have learned things about maternal behavior in cats that I never knew about until I started observing the feral ones. They’re really great mothers….and they all pitch in with the nursing kittens.

    Like

     
  5. cb

    July 20, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Great pictures! I like that last one where the gnome is fascinated by the squirrel.

    Btw we don’t have squirrels down here 😦

    Raven what I like about cats is they know who they are, they are not an animal that has ever had an identity crisis lol. Throughout their whole time as domestic animals, they have pretty well managed to stay the same and let everyone else adapt to them – a strategy that has obviously worked well over the centuries lol.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
