RSS

Before I was 30…

17 Jun
I had a full-time job at 16… 
I moved out of the house at 18…
I always paid my rent and bills on time…
I always paid my car payments and insurance on time…
I married at 20…
I immigrated to another country at 20…
I took out life insurance at 20…
I ran double in a Pete across the US and Canada…
I had a baby at 24 …
I lived through the loss of my son when he passed away…
I had purchased my own home and made my payments on time…
I had paid for 5 vehicles before I was 30…
Granted I am not an adult adoptee from state of Rhode Island – but to say adoptees aren’t mature enough to see their original birth certificate until they reach that magical age of 30…really?   
Adoptee access to birth certificates passes hurdle in R.I.
 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2011 in Adoption

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Before I was 30…

  1. Beth

    June 18, 2011 at 12:20 am

    adoptees aren’t mature enough, and they are not adults until they are 30
    “adoptees” are not considered “adult adoptees” until 30
    there must be some big money or favors behind this one, that’s nonsense

    Like

     
  2. declassifiedadoptee

    June 18, 2011 at 1:00 am

    I love this post!

    and I laugh when I see bills like that.

    I was a homeowner and married by age 21, had two babies by age 25, had a college education and career by age 22.

    But nooo, don’t give me by birth certificate. I just wouldn’t be able to handle it!

    *sigh*

    Like

     
  3. Margie

    June 18, 2011 at 1:01 am

    So incredibly ridiculous.

    Like

     
  4. shadowtheadoptee

    June 18, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    As offensive as this sort of thing is to us, adoptees, I always have to wonder why adoptive parents do not find it even more offensive. What does this say about their parenting skills? What does it say about their emotional health and stability? Frankly I see it more of an insult to adoptive parents than adoptees. So, what, adoptive parents raise children, who are immature and irresponsible, until they reach their 30’s and 40’s? So, what, adoptive parents are not capable of raising mature, responsible, and well adjusted, young adults? Isn’t that the implication in these things? This doesn’t piss off Aps just as much as adoptees? Why not?

    Think about it.

    Like

     
    • The adopted ones

      June 18, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      You are absolutely right…I guess I also just don’t see how APs cannot stand up and fight for the adoptees equal rights – and they are bashing both their parenting skills and denying rights all others have, to be given to their children too. I see so many posts about how adoption isn’t different but we all know we are perceived as different, less than, not equal.

      Like

       
    • 曉安

      June 29, 2011 at 4:58 pm

      Yes, it does piss me off. It insults my emotional maturity and also my belief that as a parent MY needs don’t matter as much as those of my child’s. And it pisses me off also just on a general human level: denying rights to a group of people to “protect” another. I don’t need that sort of “protection”. While my son does have his OBC, I hope one day to have all the blanks on it filled out.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
