RSS

Update from post on What is Donald up to…

30 Mar
Take Two: Donald Trump Releases Official Birth Certificate
Just quoting a small portion of the article about an interesting memo submitted with his OBC…
It makes me wonder if the public at large realize the sheer number of adoptees who only have a Certificate of Live Birth because we aren’t allowed anything else…
The image came with an accompanying memo from a member of Trump’s staff. 
“A ‘birth certificate’ and a ‘certificate of live birth’ are in no way the same thing, even though in some cases they use some of the same words,” wrote Trump staffer Thuy Colayco in a message to ABC News. “One officially confirms and records a newborn child’s identity and details of his or her birth, while the other only confirms that someone reported the birth of a child. Also, a ‘certificate of live birth’ is very easy to get because the standards are much lower, while a ‘birth certificate’ is only gotten through a long and detailed process wherein identity must be proved beyond any doubt. If you had only a certificate of live birth, you would not be able to get a proper passport from the Post Office or a driver’s license from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Therefore, there is very significant difference between a ‘certificate of live birth’ and a ‘birth certificate’ and one should never be confused with the other.”
 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Update from post on What is Donald up to…

  1. shadowtheadoptee

    March 30, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Interesting…wonder why The Donald can’t produce an OBC?

    Like

     
  2. Dannie

    March 30, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    I was just thinking how rinky dink that “certificate of live birth” is, if that is all that adoptees get [if one lives in a state where obc’s are still sealed]. I just received my daughter’s amended bc and it just looks incomplete and weird to me. Stuff that makes you go hmmmmmm.

    Like

     
  3. The adopted ones

    March 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Shadow he did now, the first was the unoffical handwritten hospital birth certificate.

    Dannie – does you little ones say Certificate of Live Birth? Thats all I could get before my records were opened. No time of birth, weight, anything and yet my OBC is very detailed.

    Like

     
    • Dannie

      March 30, 2011 at 7:51 pm

      AO,

      I just have the certificate of live birth, very plain….not even a siggie. I do however thank goodness have a copy of all the hospital records so I know little things like ht:, wt:, head circumference….apgar scores…..boring stuff…..and baby’s first footprints 🙂 Those are precious and I have them locked up safe and sound for now. I also have names first, middle, last for mother and first and last for father and what is known.

      Like

       
  4. The adopted ones

    March 30, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    Dannie, what is the time difference between the birth date and issue date. If more than an year you may want to look into getting her a passport sooner rather than later and keep renewing it. At least long before she is an adult as some adoptees have to go through hoops to get them now.

    Like

     
    • Dannie

      March 31, 2011 at 1:50 pm

      I will be working on getting a passport soon. Not sure if I just need the BC or the SSN as well. I need to make sure my taxes are already processed before I go to get her a SSN as I don’t want to get pinged for having a tax ID AND a SSN on her around the same time….(long story involving the OBC) but yes I was thinking about getting that passport soon. Thanks for the reminder though.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
