RSS

You all know my thoughts on if an adoption has to happen, it has to be ethical and transparent…

13 Mar
I am very pleased to find so many parents and prospective parents feel the same.  Ethiopia has been weighing heavily on my mind for a couple of years now.  Watching the numbers spike and hearing rumors that the same corruption is happening that happened in Guatemala. 
Seeing none of the adoption industry in the US speaking up publicly and shutting down and getting rid of the bad eggs…speaks volumes to me.  And what makes me even madder is that they knew what to look for going into Ethiopia.  They should have made sure what happened in Guatemala could never ever happen in Ethiopia but it appears that no one spoke up and required things be ethical and transparent from the start by all the agencies.  
This petition that JCICS want people to sign, it makes me cringe and cry softly inside because they are not willing to take a major step back and agree there is a problem and diligently work to root out the problems and agencies involved and remove them once and for all…
Anyway, I am linking to a couple of posts about the slow down that make my heart feel ever so much better, one blog I just read today and only this post, and another blog I have read for a while, and reading the comments so many others agree.  Straight Magic`s post Context and Creating our Joy`s post Not the Work of Satan… 

Thank you to those who believe ethics and transparency matter most in adoption…and thank you to all the others who are speaking up to make changes…I will post more of those in the days to come.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2011 in Adoption, Ethics

 

3 responses to “You all know my thoughts on if an adoption has to happen, it has to be ethical and transparent…

  1. Von

    March 13, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks for bringing these blogs to attention and hope the news spreads fast.

    Like

     
  2. Katy

    May 3, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    I’m Katy, of Straight Magic. I was procrastinating today and noticed that your blog had linked to my blog a while back. I have only read this post, and look forward to reading more. I just wanted to say thank you. I am fumbling around learning, and the fact that an adoptee had anything positive to say about anything I’ve ever said moved me to tears. Thank you, (in advance because I haven’t read it yet) for sharing your experience/thoughts. Whether it is easy or harsh to hear – adoptive parents are lucky to be able to hear from adult adoptees willing to share their thoughts/experiences. Thanks for blogging.

    Like

     
  3. The adopted ones

    May 3, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Katy – welcome. Some of my posts turn into mini rants but not about people who do their research and open their minds…

    There is another author on this blog (I am the prolific blogger) and our stories are similar but different – just to be aware who authored what.

    Your first comment is held and then any after that are posted immediately. Feel free to ask any questions and we will do our best to answer as honestly and gently as possible.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
