RSS

Walking the Walk

12 Feb
True Colours: The Lanier Phillips Story
You really need to watch the video – if you can’t access the video the story is below the video, but listening to Mr. Phillips tell the story in his own words cannot be replicated and much will be lost.
Humanity – that is what we should all strive for every single day.  My dad walked the walk, I try but am sure I fail much more than dad ever did.  But I keep trying.  I try to understand the divisions in the triad.  I try to use language that does not inflame.  I try not to tear down.  I fail sometimes when nothing seems to change and I can see the inequities still happening over and over again.  A kinder gentler world is possible but we all have to try. 
 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2011 in Adoption, Ethics

 

3 responses to “Walking the Walk

  1. Von

    February 12, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    So very true.More empathy, more real listening and more attempts to undetrstand and walk i n the shoes of others.

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    February 13, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Von – were you able to access the video? I know being from Canada I cannot access some US video’s due to cross border agreements.

    This man’s story of how a small town in New Foundland forever changed his view on race relations changing for the better is so amazing – I had to go find the video two months later to post here because I could not get it out of my mind. One small act of humanity 70 years ago changed his entire perception and to this day he remember it – that is awe inspiring.

    Like

     
  3. Margie

    February 14, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Thanks for the tip about this story, I’m looking forward to watching the video.

    I agree with you, with a caveat. I truthfully believe that much of the discord in adoption can be laid at the feet of (prospective) adoptive parents who are unable to listen to others with humility. I’m guilty of this myself. We have been the beneficiaries of adoption for so long that we believe we have a right to dictate how those who have only lived the pain should express themselves.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
