RSS

The Power of Genetics…

18 Jan

Isn’t the title a loaded statement in the adoption world? 

Dad understood the ramifications, he studied genetics in med school and recognised that while the knowledge was limited back then, the impact genetics plays on each individual.  Genetics interested him and he kept up on the advances made over his lifetime.
Mom on the other hand understood diseases ran in families but in the beginning I think she really believed the ‘professionals’ from the era on the blank slate concept.  Over time and real life experiences, each one of us impacted differently, she came to realize genetics matters, a lot, just like love matters, a lot.
And if you look at life today, mom is close to 4 decades older than I and when she was my age all of us kids were still at home.  She was busy from the time she got up until after dinner each night.  Summers she was busy after dinner with all the canning and yard work.  When we moved out and life slowed down, she took up volunteering to fill any spare hours.  She stopped volunteering last year.  Her age is finally catching up to her.
Now she understands the power of genetics when it hits you squarely in the face – this month we are both wearing cardiac event monitors – we are close to 4 decades apart in age – her wearing the monitor is normal for her age, actually she is starting very late – me, not so much, I am still too young according to all the rules I have already broken by having a heart attack and stroke.  Today she is catching up to me and we now have cardiologist appointments, echocardiogram’s, and other tests in common…genetics matter – don’t fool yourself.  
 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2011 in Adoption

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Power of Genetics…

  1. shadowtheadoptee

    January 19, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    It still amazes me, with all the research, studies, and information, pointing to the importance of genetics, just how many people really take it for granted. Every single medical issue I have, starting with retinitus pigmentosa, all the way to rosacea, and everything in between, has been proven to be genetic. Some will argue that knowing the genetics isn’t necessary. I can tell you for a fact, knowing my genetics, has given my doctors, as well as, myself an advantage. Knowing my genetics enabled my doctors to more quickly diagnose and treat certain things. It enabled them to pinpoint the best treatment for the conditions. Knowing, enabled me to change my lifestyle, eating habits, and other such things, to ensure any medical conditions stay manageable.

    Those heart monitors are a pain. Hoping all turns out well for you, and your mom. Keeping you both in my thoughts.

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    January 19, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    It just struck me that the reality of us both wearing the cardiac event monitors at the same time and being 4 decades apart in age, was the perfect way to show just how much genetics does count, and how environment may play a role but obviously didn’t here as we had the same environment for a good portion of my life.

    The adoption industry still believes it doesn’t count much and this seemed like the perfect example that it does.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
