RSS

Merry Christmas and query…

25 Dec
Reading the NY Times this morning and came across this article Hawaii’s Governor Takes On ‘Birthers’…it’s quite interesting and worth reading.
I have never quite understood all the hoopla surrounding the Presidents birth certificate but it has always struck me that…
My amended birth certificate is a certificate of live birth and I don’t think an amended long-form birth certificate is available.  Do any other adoptees have an amended long form birth certificate?
So having asked that question – what would happen if an adoptee ran for president, won, and was asked to provide their long-form birth certificate???
And would an amended long-form birth certificate (if we can get one) even be accepted?  My guess is probably not if a certificate of live birth is not good enough.
You must see where I am going with this…
Some adoptee should run for president, win, and then prove the point that ALL ADOPTEES should have access to their ORIGINAL BIRTH CERTIFICATE
All I want for Christmas is for all adoptees to have access to their Original Birth Certificate…doesn’t seem like to much to ask does it…

Merry Christmas!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 25, 2010 in Adoption, Ethics

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Merry Christmas and query…

  1. Sunday Koffron Taylor

    December 25, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    To be honest, the first thing I thought when I heard about his OBC controversy was…was he adopted? Then what if he was adopted? Would any adoptee who ran for president face this issue? That is a very scary probability! Adoptees deserve the basic human rights the rest of us have, the right to unfalsified medical and legal documents that pertain to them.

    Nothing less will do!

    Like

     
  2. Von

    December 25, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    Nothing less will ever do!
    My ‘long’ birth certificate is next to useless and full of N/A’s.

    Like

     
  3. The adopted ones

    December 27, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Sunday – I had that same thought when I first heard of the conflict happening…

    Like

     
  4. Amanda

    January 6, 2011 at 2:39 am

    We’ve had at least one adopted President in the past. I’ve never heard of his citizenship coming into question though.

    I can’t remember why Obama has an ABC. I’ve heard that people can receive those if their OBCs were somehow misplaced or destroyed by accident (etc.) at vital records. More and more, an ABC is not a valid proof of identity. It’s not really a birth document; it’s a document that is a place holder for the real one, alleged to exist–somewhere. We’ve got Adult Adoptees who are legislators who likely have no access to an OBC and are representing citizens and making the laws and policies of this nation…..but at the same time, other Adult Adoptees can’t even prove who they are enough to get a passport or driver’s liscense. It boggles my mind.

    I am not a “birther” by any means. I just can’t believe we’ve been fighting for Adoptee Rights since the 1950’s and our state governments still can’t get it together lol.

    Like

     
  5. The adopted ones

    January 6, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Amanda –
    From what I understand President Obama has a long form birth certificate but Hawaii has a law that does not allow release to the public of it.

    As far as I know the Presidency is the only office that requires an individual to be born in the USA, perhaps that is the difference?

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
