RSS

November Adoption Awareness Month – Day Eighteen

18 Nov
Ris for Reflections…
I challenged myself to find a word or words based on the next letter of the alphabet each day.  I haven’t quite figured out what to do at the end of the month but I figured it would be tough to come up with a post based on simply a letter of the alphabet, so far it hasn’t been but then I have yet to come to X and Z. 
Two of the reasons for this particular challenge is that I love to learn and I need to continue practicing to regain my former ability to express myself, which I lost when I had my stroke.  My need to include this is because if you don’t understand what I am trying to say – ask – don’t assume.  I still miss stuff ALL THE TIME. 
My stroke left me with expressive aphasia and anomic or nominal aphasia plus a few other issues including memory and cognitive issues.  To start with I could not form a sound.  Then I could only form the first syllable of the word even though the word was in my head, I simply could not remember how to move my mouth to form the sounds, something we automatically do without thinking about it.  In writing the word in my head was not the word my hand wrote/typed – the connection was gone and somehow connected to another word. 
To write a simple paragraph it would require typing it and then retyping it and then taking a break from it to see the glaringly obvious mistakes.  Then a repeat of the process until it was as perfect as I could make it.  Even then there were most likely half a dozen mistakes left in.  Compounding the writing was my spelling was also compromised, and the simplest of words I would misspell and have no clue to how to spell them.  I could not see these mistakes because I had a black hole where that knowledge used to be.  I still have to edit and re-edit and edit again ad nauseam and still my spoken and written words are  not the same as it was before.
Having expressive aphasia means still today, years later, I have trouble getting the message in my head out in words that make sense to others.
I think that the above description of how my stroke has affected me as an adult, could also speak to how I may have felt and been affected when I was adopted and moved to my new home.  What was before was gone and a black hole was left in its place.  I had to adjust and assimilate (rewire) to my new reality and find new ways to survive and grow.  There was no road map and no do-overs, my only choice was facing my new life.  And just like today where I have problems saying what is in my head – I did not have the ability or words to express what I felt growing up. 
 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “November Adoption Awareness Month – Day Eighteen

  1. cb

    November 18, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    You’ve always made sense to me 🙂

    With the letter “X”, you might have to cheat a bit and use it in replacement of the prefix “ex” lol. The only words off the top of my head I can think of that begin with x are X-ray, xylophone and xiphisternum. Finding a connection between adoption and xylophones would be interesting lol. Also as X is the 24th letter of the alphabet, you could just put the title as XXIV lol.

    catherine

    Like

     
  2. shadowtheadoptee

    November 18, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Excellent, and just look how far you have come. I don’t thingk it is the way you express yourself. I think, some people, just can’t “see” past their nose to even try to understand what any of us are saying. Thumbs up.

    Interesting thing just happened. Cath and I apparently posted our comments at the same time. My comment disappeared, so this is my second try. Cyber gremlins?

    Like

     
  3. cb

    November 18, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Actually, shadow – part of my reply is missing too (I tried to put something in quotes and it has disappeared).

    “I think, some people, just can’t “see” past their nose to even try to understand what any of us are saying.”
    Agree totally.

    Like

     
  4. Von

    November 18, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    Thanks for telling your story and about the difficulties overcome..I’ve always maintained adoptees need to be bravery, stronger,more resilient, persevering and inventive than others.Good luck with X and Z…I have been wondering!

    Like

     
  5. The adopted ones

    November 19, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks guys…I know you have my back and would ask instead of assume because you all know what that would make you…

    CB – I was thinking of using ex instead X – Z – well I just thought of something…

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
