RSS

My Treadle Sewing Machine

29 Sep

I went to a grade school that had 4 grades combined and one teacher taught everything…seems pretty strange compared to today.  But it was the start of an amazing education that spanned more than just the curriculum required by the state.  Our curriculum encompassed life – all of life – which included sewing your clothes.  Every single student learned to sew.  The girls all sewed identical dresses, the boys sewed shirts.  And we did that each year of the 4 years we were in her class.  I have no idea how she accomplished that and taught us what we needed to know as well.  Looking back it stuns me the volume of activities she dealt with on a daily basis, or how she managed so many different projects all at the same time but she did, and did it well.  I have such fond memories of my first teacher who also turned out to be my best teacher.

Why am I talking about this?  Because I dusted off my Treadle Singer Sewing Machine and plan to start sewing again.  I have a fancier, newer (just about anything would be newer) sewing machine that I could use but for some reason I always return to my Treadle.  There is something to sewing and treadling that just makes it the best way to sew.  Comforting, soothing, calming and the most amazing sense of accomplishment.  I inherited my Treadle from my cousin who inherited it from our grandmother.  The Singer Treadle Sewing Machine with the Memphis (Sphinx) design in gold that was made in 1924 in Quebec, Canada.  The Treadle that my grandmother sewed all the clothes her family wore before, during and after the Great Depression.  The same Treadle that my mom learned to sew on.  My treadle has history, and it is still a valued possession today – almost a 84 years after it was purchased by my grandmother it has truly stood the test of time.  It is not replaceable, it is part of my history and my families history.  It is one of my most treasured possessions. 

I’m going to go treadle and sew now.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “My Treadle Sewing Machine

  1. shadowtheadoptee

    September 29, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Very cool.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
