RSS

Who ever thought…

08 Jul

I love all the birds that come to backyard and feed at the feeders or take a peanut or two…all birds are welcome here.  At least that was my motto – crows and ravens, bush tits and hummingbirds, black cap and mountain chickadees, sparrows and finches, stellar jays, downy woodpeckers, northern flickers and even the big classic woody woodpecker too…until today.

Early in the spring I found the perfect bird bath, simple just a ring of hammered aluminum with a screwtype clamp that allows me to attach it to my railing, with a plastic saucer insert just the right depth PLUS safe from cats on the prey.  Perfect, it works like a charm attached to the railing outside my kitchen window.  The birds appear to love it and its easy to keep clean…

Today is garbage day pickup…I went out this morning to check the bird bath and found bits of pork chop bones soaking in water.  Not a big deal I took it inside to wash and looking out the window a crow is staring inside perched on the ring.  I refilled the bath and put it back and then watched as birds came, drank and went, squirrels came, drank and went…just perfect.  I just went out to check and other bits and pieces of who knows what had been left to ? wash ? soak ? can there be such a thing as a picky crow?

Life in my backyard world…right now I know its safe because big puppy is sunning himself on the porch…

Big puppy is inside and guess what…the crow is back and seriously he has food and is washing each piece before he eats it…OCD?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Who ever thought…

  1. shadowtheadoptee

    July 9, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    lol OCD is exactly what I was thinking. BTW, the other cow we are cowsitting is starting to show signs that her due date is near. I expect sometime next week we will have another little calf. Junior, (it would not do, not to name him, and that name just came out and stuck), , will be happy he has a playmate.

    What does big puppy think about all the birds, squirrels etc, just outside the window?

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    July 9, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    The miracle of birth, I wish I lived on property.

    Big puppy is getting old so no chance of catching anything…little puppy on the other hand has a healthy dose of terrier in her and no matter what I try she chases the squirrels like mad. I have to slam open the kitchen windows to warn them to flee and then slowly open the kitchen door…crazy crazy crazy…

    The crow keeps bringing stuff – last night it was bits of cone from the big spruce tree, dunking and then eating, today was a piece of a flour tortilla which he just left for me. Bringing me presents? This just started and I have no idea why, he has been hanging out here for years…and might be the one last summer who sprained his wing and had to go to rehab (SPCA) until he could fly again – I know, I know, I am a complete nutcase…but he couldn’t fly out of the backyard and with big and little puppy…it wasn’t going to be nice.

    Like

     
  3. shadowtheadoptee

    July 9, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    Ha, Mr. Crow is saying thank you. I would have done the same thing. There was an article my husband was telling me about, where a lady not too far from us, found a great dane and a goat wondering around. Apparently, they had become quite attached, but because she lived in the city, the sherrif took the goat. According to the sherrif, and the lady, both dog and goat, were not happy about being seperated, and let everyone know in a very vocal manor, all night long. I asked my husband if he wanted to adopt a great dane and a goat. He hasn’t come around to my way of thinking yet, and unfortunately, now probably wouldn’t be a good time. We have enough animals to feed at the moment. Still? We could use another goat, I think it is the, uhm, “greatness” of the great dane that he’s concerned about. lol

    Hubby is determined to “witness” the birth of a calf, but the cows doen’t seem to be cooperating with his plan. lol Apparently, they prefer their privacy.

    Sounds like Little Puppy and the “rat patrol”, my neighbors little dogs, would get along great, and have loads of fun. I’ve often wondered if they would know what to do if they ever did catch a squirrel?

    Like

     
  4. shadowtheadoptee

    July 11, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Good news. The G dane and the goat have been reunited and returned to their owner, who had spent all week looking for them. The owner saw the news report. Happy ending.

    Like

     
    • The adopted ones

      July 12, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      Wonderful – absolutely perfect! Bet your hubby is thrilled too because I bet your would have worn him down to take in just two more strays! He-he. You made my day.

      Like

       

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
