RSS

My backyard world…

06 Jul

Edited to fix and add… 

The last couple of days I have sat quietly outside trying to get pictures of the older baby Stellar Jays but they are proving elusive and stay in the shadows just far enough away to not get the great shots in the full light of day, those pictures that would really show off their beautiful hues of blue in their feathers and the downy fluff they have yet to lose. 

The baby Stellar Jays each have a way of showing who they are…

Picky who tests each peanut until the perfect one is found.  She picks one up and puts it down and then another and another as if to say ‘no – not this one’, ‘maybe this one’, ‘no -that one’, ‘this one’, ‘that one’ until finally she finds ‘the one’… 

Gangly seldom lands on the railing with grace but rather skids to a stop toppling peanuts one by one or crashing into another baby Stellar Jay.  Gangly also seems to have issues with take offs by the way…I hope one day he truly finds his wings.  

Selfish chases the others away and first finds a small peanut and then a larger one too, before he flies away. 

Grumpy flies in screaming at all the others as if to say ‘go away’ ‘go away’ and stalks back and forth with his feathers all fluffed, pacing back and forth pecking at those who dare to stay. 

Silent tries so hard to lend her voice but from inside my kitchen I hear nothing, only see her try repeatedly to sing, opening and shutting her beak, I wonder what she is trying to say.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “My backyard world…

  1. shadowtheadoptee

    July 6, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I can picture all of them in my mind. I’ve been unable to sit out on our front porch for a while now. We have a barn swallow, who has built a nest in the corner of our front porch. She is quite brave, and quite protective of her nest. Actually, she’s a bit vicious, and dive bombs us everytime we step out the door. lol Good thing we have a back door. OH, and my, my, can she ever make some noise.

    Like

     
  2. The adopted ones

    July 6, 2010 at 9:39 pm

    Swallows are so beautiful – they seem to not come round in the city anymore – remember them as a kid and totally get the dive bombs…soon the babies will leave the nest.

    Just re-read the post and realize why I edit and edit yet again. After all these years you would think the deficits from my stroke would be fixed. Will have to fix the words.

    Glad I could put a picture in your mind – these babies provide me with endless entertainment and there are more than just those I have named…

    Like

     
  3. shadowtheadoptee

    July 7, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I think you are too hard on yourself. I always hate it when people tell me how well I do/get around/etc as a blind person. I get mixed feelings. One feeling is almost like being insulted. What is it they expect me to do? Am I supposed to stumble around, run into things, knock things over, etc? I lost my sight, not my intelligence. Sometimes the thought, and feeling, is, if they only knew how difficult it sometimes could be, they would not have that tone of pity in their voice. It would be a tone of respect. Ha, can’t win. Even though I hate it when people say it to me, I’m going to tell you the same. You do very well, and had I not known about your stroke, I’d have no idea, and I say that with a tone of respect. Here is a pat on the back for both of us. We do a heck of a lot better than a lot of people with no obstacles in their way, so cut yourself some slack. We deserve some credit for our accomplishments after all we’ve been through. We’ll just keep editing, editing, editing, together. It does get old. Doesn’t it? Lol

    I like hearing about the antics of animals. I miss being able to watch them. I would like to hear more. I can watch them through your eyes.

    When all the drama of my reunions was going on, and I was so down, I would go out and sit on my swing. I could just sit, quietly and still, for hours. Would you believe the birds would actually come land next to me on the swing? The squirrels and rabbits would also get close, and play within reaching distance. I thought about trying to see if I could get them to eat out of my hand, but, not being able to se, thought twice. I thought it might be a better idea to “know” what I was feeding. One time I reached out to pet what I thought was the neighbor’s border collie. The head I was patting was not the head of a border collie. It was a pit bull. lol Good thing it was a friendly one, but that dog sure had a big head. Lol

    I can easily get lost in nature, and become part of it, blend in with it. I can also see my self, just like you, sitting for hours, waiting for that perfect picture, watching, getting to know each animal and their personality. Just thinking about it gives me a happy feeling inside. I’m perfectly content to be alone in my own backyard world. It’s a good place to be. I think it is a shame that more people don’t appreciate their own backyard worlds, or understand the peace of mind that they can find there.

    Like

     
  4. The adopted ones

    July 7, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    You are my twin…someone I truly was meant to find.

    Like

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
