RSS

the golden rule…

18 Apr

When I see people – I smile, really smile and make eye contact and sometimes a quick word or two passes between us.  This happens without thought on my part, I just like to connect to others that pass through my life –  even if I will never see them again.

Standing in the line up at a store I chat with the others in the line up.  Sometimes I do it consciously because somebody may be getting mad at the size of the line – but mostly I do it because it seems like the natural thing to do.  We are social creatures after all.

Lately I have begun to realize that acknowledging others is happening less and less in society and that makes me sad.  Perhaps it has always been this way in a big city, but because I grew up in a small town I am different and just realizing it now…whatever the reason it still makes me sad.

What is wrong with putting others first?  Even if it is only for a minute?  Have you seen how just smiling at someone makes them smile?  Isn’t that a good thing?  Brightening someones day?  Don’t you like it when someone smiles at you?  When you are acknowledged?  A simple comment to the lady working in her flower bed about what a beautiful yard she has?  

Even non-verbal actions do great things – a quick wave to your neighbor, holding the door open for someone, letting someone in line ahead of you, all make me smile and feel good – what about you? 

I make a point to connect to others from simply a smile to a quick chat – from the homeless person asking for change, to Adam who bags my groceries, to the security guard always on duty at the store or bank.  It takes just a moment of my time to make someone else smile and feel good and who knows…if everyone was nice to everyone…just for the sake of being nice…what the world would look like…what type of stories would be shown on the news…

Try treating others as you would like to be treated…the world would be a better place. 

Just try it…and let me know how it works for you and what you get out of it.  You may be surprised.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 18, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
