RSS

Daily Archives: October 9, 2011

Can’t get it out of my mind…

I am unsure whether or not I should post this but I cannot let it go.  Warning some of you may not like what I am about to say.  I have been angered more this past week than I have been in a long time.  Perhaps it has to do with being so aware of my own mortality, or simply because of the disrespect shown to him and his family, or both.  I could also be totally off-base but it bothers me, a lot.

My question for all adoptive parents is this:

When your child dies is it okay with you that pro-life groups, some religious folk, pro-adoption groups, the general media, and twitter people use YOUR child as a poster child for adoption over abortion?  Within hours of his passing? 

That the reason he accomplished anything in his life is because he was adopted?

That if he had not been adopted he would have accomplished nothing?

Is that really okay with you?

Because from the lack of outcry seems like it is.  I have seen more rhetoric over the Glee storyline including a petition for a PSA for adoption with numerous comments, than on how an adoptee is being used to further other people’s agenda.

You don’t believe me?  Google it.  I am just waiting for the promotions to happen capitalizing on “your adopted child could grow up to be…”

I want to be remembered for who I am, what I did, what I was like.  I do not want to be remembered as the person who could have been aborted but was saved because my “birthmother” chose life and placed me for adoption.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

NYT – Opinion Piece on TBI

Starting Again After a Brain Injury

Go read this two-page article.  It’s good just on the topic of traumatic brain injury from the person impacted point of view.  It also spoke to me on many other fronts, one being how an older child adopted from another country may also have many of the same emotions and experiences – different yet the same. 

Tell me what you think.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers