RSS

Daily Archives: October 2, 2011

I had no idea there was a Vegetarian Awareness Month

As I sit here having my lunch of avacodo on wheat with a sprinkle of cheddar cheese, I learned an entire month is dedicated Vegetarian Awareness.  Who knew?  Mind you this is something I maybe should have been aware of seeing as how I am a lacto-ovo vegetarian.  

I was raised lacto-ovo vegetarian (eggs and dairy is fine) primarily as a health choice.  Dad raised just about everything we ate and drank year round, with mom preserving it for the winter.  Home made multi-grain bread was all we ever knew, even the cinnamon buns mom sometimes made as a treat were made from multi-grain bread dough, with the bare minimum butter and brown sugar but lots of raisins. 

For a few years as a young adult I ate meat - sort of – because I could, but pretty soon I couldn’t stomach it, primarily because I could not stand the thought of an animal dying.  Trying to look back to when I last ate meat and it has to be over a couple of decades now.  I figure I have been vegetarian somewhere around 90% of my entire life.

I think this is one of the few things my fellow blogger and I are not alike on.  That’s okay, neither is my man.  It’s a personal choice.  I could never convert to vegan – just would not work for me.  Nor could I give up my dairy products - I have milk in my coffee and on my cereal and I think it would be a bitch to bake without eggs and cheese – could not live without it.

I do think more and more people are eating more vegetarian meals.  I like it that restaurants are finally starting to have items on the menu I can eat too.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 
 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers