RSS

November Adoption Awareness Month – Day Twenty-four

24 Nov
X” is for the letter X and other X words…
This letter is HARD to write about.  I have been going over various ideas all day and have come full circle and back to my original idea to start with.
My Original Birth Certificate is beautiful.  I remember the day I received it in the mail more than four decades after my birth.  I sat on the couch and read it over and over and over again.  Completely surreal holding in my hands.  Words cannot do justice to the feelings that were washing over me.
When I got to Box 23 I laughed out loud.
23.    LEGITIMATE?
         Yes  [ ]   No  [X]
And to further highlight my disgrace someone had ensured the “X” in the No Box would not be missed by circling it with an ink pen as well! 
I am happy to say that my date of birth IS my date of birth…trust me I checked that out right at the start.
What I find so incredibly strange is the stigma of illegitimacy is one of the main reasons why our Original Birth Certificates were sealed from the PUBLIC in the first place.  Somewhere along the line other people used that original concept to seal them from US as well…horrors we may find out we were born to unwed mothers…we all knew that was the reason we were placed back then – come on.
What I will never understand is how the act of adoption removes the FACT that I was born illegitimate and makes me legitimate.  No matter what my amended birth certificate states to my knowledge there are no do-overs in life.  I was born illegitimate – it never has bothered me, I have not lost any sleep over it…it is what it is… 
I will leave you with a selections of X words and a few others that I sourced today from Phrontistery a wonderful site of words seldom used and mainly forgotten.
  1. agamogenesis – reproduction by non-sexual means
  2. cryptogenic – of unknown origin
  3. misosophy – hatred of knowledge or wisdom
  4. morosophy – foolish pretence of wisdom
  5. mysteriosophy – system of knowledge concerning secrets and mysteries
  6. mythogenesis – origin of myths
  7. xenogenesis – generation of offspring entirely unlike the parent
  8. xenogenous – due to an outside cause
  9. xanthippe ill -tempered woman
  10. xenodochial – hospitable; kindly to strangers
  11. xenolith – fragment of extraneous rock embedded in magma or another rock
  12. xenophilia – love of foreigners
 
 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “November Adoption Awareness Month – Day Twenty-four

  1. cb

    November 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    I will try to be xenodochial to people today lol. If we have any stroppy female patients at work today, I will have to tell them to stop being xanthippic.

    I was so sure you were going to use “The X factor” as the heading lol.

    “What I will never understand is how the act of adoption removes the FACT that I was born illegitimate and makes me legitimate. No matter what my amended birth certificate states to my knowledge there are no do-overs in life. I was born illegitimate – it never has bothered me, I have not lost any sleep over it…it is what it is…”
    It has never really bothered me either; it just bothers me that the rest of society was so bothered by it.

     
  2. Von

    November 24, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Love it!No 5 is my favourite!
    I’ve never been bothered about being a bastard really it’s the attitudes of others that are troublesome.

     

Tell me your thoughts, but please be nice...

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 338 other followers

